Sound Track: Simple Little Town

Sound Track: Simple Little Town-attachment0

Unspoken Tradition, Simple Little Town

While this is an album of brisk bluegrass straight out of the gate, Unspoken Tradition (led by singer-songwriter Ty Gilpin) also showcases dynamism and range, from the tender “Time Marches On” to the bluesy, spooky “Blood and Bone.” The band seems most at home on offerings like the title track. That fiddle- and steel guitar-studded song talks about small town living and earnest dreams — working-class, everyman themes that run throughout the 10 tracks. “Mr. President” and “Mine Shaft Blues” both emphasize the plight of hard-working people who risk their own safety for modest livelihoods. “Rebel’s Shame” and “Bitter Haze” both stand out for their ever-so-slightly funky, syncopated intros. Don’t worry, traditionalists: both songs also quickly relax into more familiar, bass-driven and finger-picking-fueled bluegrass melodies. “Stickshifts and Safetybelts” is a standout for its tongue-in-cheek turn on romance — “I need you here with me, not way over in a bucket seat.” Amid a lot of stellar but often serious songwriting, the spirit of fun is a great reward in an already rewarding record.

Unspoken Tradition holds an album release party at The Bywater on Friday, Nov. 8. 9 p.m., $5.

About Alli Marshall
Alli Marshall is the arts writer and editor at Mountain Xpress. She's lived in Asheville for more than 20 years and loves live music, visual art, fiction and friendly dogs. Alli is the author of the novel "How to Talk to Rockstars," published by Logosophia Books. Follow me @alli_marshall

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.