New Buncombe commissioners will be sworn in Monday

New Buncombe commissioners will be sworn in Monday-attachment0

K. Ray Bailey and Holly Jones will be sworn in as members of the Buncombe County Board of Commissioners Monday, Dec. 1, at 10 a.m. in the Planning Conference Room at 30 Valley St. Current Vice Chair David Gantt will be sworn in as chair.

The board will then handle several organizational matters such as the election of a vice chair and the appointments of the clerk to the board, county attorney, finance director and tax director. The new board will also set meeting times and approve the county’s public bonds, as well as handle a variety of appointments to local boards where the commissioners have a seat.

— David Forbes, staff writer


Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.