Southeastern Film Critics’ picks

The Southeastern Film Critics Association recently issued its ranking of 2005’s best films. The association polled its 40-some members (our own Ken Hanke and Marcianne Miller among them) to compile this list of 2005’s top 10.

1) Brokeback Mountain
2) Good Night, and Good Luck
3) Capote
4) Crash
5) A History of Violence
6) The Constant Gardener
7) Syriana
8) Cinderella Man
9) King Kong
10) Walk the Line

SEFCA’s other honors for 2005 films include the following:

Best Foreign-Language Film
Winner: Caché
Runner-up: Kung-fu Hustle

Best Director
Winner: Ang Lee, Brokeback Mountain
Runner-up: George Clooney, Good Night, and Good Luck

Best Actor
Winner: Philip Seymour Hoffman, Capote
Runner up: Heath Ledger, Brokeback Mountain

Best Actress
Winner: Felicity Huffman, Transamerica
Runner-up: Reese Witherspoon, Walk the Line

Best Supporting Actor
Winner: Paul Giamatti, Cinderella Man
Runner-up: George Clooney, Syriana

Best Supporting Actress
Winner: Amy Adams, Junebug
Runner-up: Michelle Williams, Brokeback Mountain

Best Original Screenplay
Winners: Paul Haggis and Bobby Moresco, Crash
Runners-up: George Clooney and Grant Herslov, Good Night, and Good Luck

Best Adapted Screenplay
Winners: Larry McMurtry and Diana Ossana, Brokeback Mountain
Runner-up: Dan Futterman, Capote

Best Documentary
Winner: March of the Penguins
Runner-up: Grizzly Man

Best Animated Film
Winner: Wallace and Gromit: The Curse of the Were-Rabbit
Runner-up: Tim Burton’s Corpse Bride

Wyatt Award
Winner: Junebug
Runner-u: Hustle and Flow

The Wyatt, given in memory of late SEFCA member Gene Wyatt, is awarded a film that captures the spirit of the South. This is the first year a recipient has been chosen.


Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.