Friday’s musical summit

Local singer/songwriter Angela Faye Martin is calling Grey Eagle‘s Friday, Jan. 8 show “a musical summit.” Summit might just be the word here, as the concert brings together three of the area’s most haunting alt-folk acts.

Martin’s own band is currently deciding on a name, though the group is know as “The Awful Decade” to some. Martin’s band includes guitarist Chris Cooper, drummer Adam Woleslagle, keyboardist Jeff Southerland and bassist Jeremy Rose. Their sound is folky, quirky and poppy in a sneaky, unexpected fashion.

Pilgrim is the dreamy, slow-core poetic project of singer/guitarist Jaye Bartell, guitarist Shane Perlowin, vocalist Noel Thrasher, and now with bassist Mark Capon (Harvest Records) and Kim Roney on keys.

Suttree describes its sound as the “warped idea of a modern Lee and Nancy backed by a lovely, yet sinister desert psych noir band.” Members include guitarists Chad McRorie and Paul Parsons, vocalist Rebeccah Mark, bassist Christian Riel, Lauren Davis on organ and drummer Miles George.

Of the performance, Martin writes, “I’ve been wanting to share a bill with Suttree, not just because of their Cormac McCarthy inspired name, but due mostly to their rare esprit de corps for around three years. It’s going to be a wild night: Elvis’s birthday, the eve of our Chapel Hill debut and an alliance that will mark a new alliance among these three bands.”

Friday, Jan. 15, 9 p.m. $7 at the door. Click here for info.

—Alli Marshall, A&E reporter

About Alli Marshall
Alli Marshall is the arts section editor at Mountain Xpress. She's lived in Asheville for more than 20 years and loves live music, visual art, fiction and friendly dogs. Alli is the winner of the 2016 Thomas Wolfe Fiction Prize and the author of the novel "How to Talk to Rockstars," published by Logosophia Books. Follow me @alli_marshall

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.