Let the game (and the season) begin

(Pictured: ASO’s principal violist, Kara Poorbaugh, who performs Vaughan Williams’ “Flos Campi” on April 20, 2013. Photo by Michael Morel)

On the heels of the Asheville Symphony Orchestra’s recent announcement of its 2012-2013 season, Music Director Daniel Meyer will throw the first pitch at the Asheville Tourists game on Wednesday, Aug. 1.

According to an ASO press release, “… Meyer will be trading in his baton for a baseball to throw out the first pitch … . Come out … to support your local team and your maestro as the Tourists take on the Lexington Legends at McCormick Field.” The energetic, boisterous conductor leads his eighth season with ASO this year. Since taking his position in 2004, Meyer has increased ASO’s community presence, with local in-school performances and other educational programs, as well as the now-annual Symphony in the Park concerts on Labor Day. This year, the free pops concert takes place at 7 p.m. on Sept. 3.

Meyer’s athletic foray brings to mind another example of sports-meets-classical-music: Peter Schickele’ play-by-play of Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony. Schickele (aka P.D.Q. Bach) could be considered the Weird Al Yankovic of classical music. The satirist/musicologist has produced many parody compositions under the P.D.Q. moniker, including “A Little Nightmare Music,” “The Short-Tempered Clavier” and “Oedipus Tex.”

Here is ASO’s 2012-2013 Masterworks program.

2012-2013 Masterworks Concerts
All Masterworks concerts take place in Thomas Wolfe Auditorium on Saturdays at 8:00 pm.

MW1  •  Sept. 15
Opening Night: “Symphonie fantastique” with soloist Chee-Yun on violin
Falla – “Ritual Fire Dance”
Glazunov -  Violin Concerto in A minor, Op. 82

Berlioz – “Symphonie fantastique”

MW2  •  Oct. 13
Brahms’ Piano Concerto No. 2 with Valentina Lisitsa on piano
Takemitsu – “Funeral Music” from Black Rain
Strauss – “Death and Transfiguration”
Brahms – Piano Concerto No. 2

MW3  •  Nov. 17
Rachmaninoff’s Paganini Variations with Van Cliburn Medalist Joyce Yang on piano
Bizet – “L’Arlésienne” Suite No. 1
Rachmaninoff – “Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini”
Beethoven – Symphony No. 4

MW4  •  Feb. 9, 2013
Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto with Tchaikovsky Competition Winner Daniil Trifonov on piano
Barber – Adagio for Strings
Franck – “Psyché”
Tchaikovsky – Piano Concerto No. 1

MW5  •  March 16, 2013
The American Four Seasons with Tim Fain on violin
Handel – Water Music Suite No. 2 in D Major
Glass – Violin Concerto No. 2, “The American Four Seasons”
Copland – Three Latin American Sketches
Bach – Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 in F

MW6  •  April 20, 2013
Mozart’s Requiem with Kara Poorbaugh on viola, the Asheville Symphony Chorus and the WCU Concert Choir, directed by
 Michael Lancaster
Pärt – Cantus in Memoriam Benjamin Britten
Vaughan Williams – Flos Campi
Mozart – Requiem Mass in D Minor

MW7  •  May 11, 2013
Rite of Spring with Joshua Roman on cello
Fauré – Pavane
Saint-Saëns – Cello Concerto No. 1
Stravinsky – The Rite of Spring

For tickets, other 2012-2013 concerts and other ASO information, visit http://www.ashevillesymphony.org.




Thanks for reading through to the end…

We share your inclination to get the whole story. For the past 25 years, Xpress has been committed to in-depth, balanced reporting about the greater Asheville area. We want everyone to have access to our stories. That’s a big part of why we've never charged for the paper or put up a paywall.

We’re pretty sure that you know journalism faces big challenges these days. Advertising no longer pays the whole cost. Media outlets around the country are asking their readers to chip in. Xpress needs help, too. We hope you’ll consider signing up to be a member of Xpress. For as little as $5 a month — the cost of a craft beer or kombucha — you can help keep local journalism strong. It only takes a moment.

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.