Moogfest adds yet more performers to its lineup

“One of the most monumental and influential musical figures of the past century — the composer and performer Terry Riley — will be joining the Moogfest line up this year, presenting a special concert,” reads a press release from Moogfest. Even bigger news: though most of Riley’s recent performances have been acoustic, his Moogfest concert will be on “his legendary electronic keyboard music, including his remarkable ‘A Rainbow In Curved Air,’ the visionary work which shaped and inspired the music of Pink Floyd, the Who, and countless others.”

Watch a video set to “‘A Rainbow In Curved Air”:


Riley’s son, the guitarist and composer Gyan Riley, will join his father in concert. Gyan performs both as a soloist and in a variety of ensembles. He’s played with the likes of Zakir Hussain, Michael Manring and the San Francisco Symphony. (The Rileys will perform on Saturday, Oct. 29.)

Here’s Gyan Riley at Big Ears Festival last year:


Two more recently-announced Moogfest acts are:

• Critics and blogger’s darling The Field is Stockholm-based Axel Willner who, according to his bio, can “sample the familiar into something new.” (The Field is scheduled to play on Friday, Oct. 28.)

Listen to “Everybody’s Got To Learn Sometime” from 2009 release Yesterday and Today:


• Asheville native DJ/producer/musician Marley Carroll, who fronts the band Melanaster, is the DJ for Charlotte’s hip-hop trio Mr. Invisible, and is also well known for his solo DJ sets of IDM, minimal house, indie rock, hip-hop and pop. (Carroll performs on Saturday, Oct. 29.)

Here’s Marley Carroll performing at The Pour House in Charleston earlier this year:


About Alli Marshall
Alli Marshall is the arts section editor at Mountain Xpress. She's lived in Asheville for more than 20 years and loves live music, visual art, fiction and friendly dogs. Alli is the winner of the 2016 Thomas Wolfe Fiction Prize and the author of the novel "How to Talk to Rockstars," published by Logosophia Books. Follow me @alli_marshall

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.