Smart bets: Asheville Symphony Orchestra

Even if woodwinds and strings aren’t your thing, it’s hard to remain unmoved by the percussion of a symphony. The xylophone, gongs, chimes and cymbals are dramatic, but it’s the timpani — oversized copper pots with drumheads tuned to various pitches — that steal the show. The Asheville Symphony Orchestra’s Masterworks 3 concert sets the timpani front and center (literally), as principal timpanist Todd Mueller and Mark Yancich, principal timpanist of the Atlanta Symphony, perform Oliverio’s “Dynasty” timpani concerto. The concert also includes Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 4 and “Machine” by American composer Jennifer Higdon, which is inspired by Tchaikovsky’s composition. Masterworks 3 takes place at the Thomas Wolfe Auditorium on Saturday, Nov. 22, at 8 p.m. $22-$62 adults/$11-$43 students with $7 student rush tickets/buy one, get one free for all veterans and active-duty military personnel in honor of Veterans Day. Photo of Yancich, left, and Mueller courtesy of the symphony


Thanks for reading through to the end…

We share your inclination to get the whole story. For the past 25 years, Xpress has been committed to in-depth, balanced reporting about the greater Asheville area. We want everyone to have access to our stories. That’s a big part of why we've never charged for the paper or put up a paywall.

We’re pretty sure that you know journalism faces big challenges these days. Advertising no longer pays the whole cost. Media outlets around the country are asking their readers to chip in. Xpress needs help, too. We hope you’ll consider signing up to be a member of Xpress. For as little as $5 a month — the cost of a craft beer or kombucha — you can help keep local journalism strong. It only takes a moment.

About Alli Marshall
Alli Marshall has lived in Asheville for more than 20 years and loves live music, visual art, fiction and friendly dogs. She is the winner of the 2016 Thomas Wolfe Fiction Prize and the author of the novel "How to Talk to Rockstars," published by Logosophia Books. Follow me @alli_marshall

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.