Smart Bets: Asheville Symphony

For its 2018-19 season finale on Saturday, May 11, the Asheville Symphony plans to go out in memorable style. The program begins on the Thomas Wolfe Auditorium stage at 8 p.m. with Arturo Márquez’s Danzón No. 2, a piece inspired by the titular Cuban dance style, followed by a guest appearance from violinist Simone Porter for Saint-Saëns’ Violin Concerto No. 3. Last on the program is Stravinsky’s “The Rite of Spring,” which will unite the talents of almost 100 musicians. The substantial number of players required to properly pull off the legendary piece makes its performance a rare one on the local scene and one that will showcase the skills of music director Darko Butorac and his baton. $24-69. Photo of Porter by Emma Bella Holley


Thanks for reading through to the end…

We share your inclination to get the whole story. For the past 25 years, Xpress has been committed to in-depth, balanced reporting about the greater Asheville area. We want everyone to have access to our stories. That’s a big part of why we've never charged for the paper or put up a paywall.

We’re pretty sure that you know journalism faces big challenges these days. Advertising no longer pays the whole cost. Media outlets around the country are asking their readers to chip in. Xpress needs help, too. We hope you’ll consider signing up to be a member of Xpress. For as little as $5 a month — the cost of a craft beer or kombucha — you can help keep local journalism strong. It only takes a moment.

About Edwin Arnaudin
Edwin Arnaudin is a staff writer for Mountain Xpress. He also reviews films for and is a member of the Southeastern Film Critics Association (SEFCA) and North Carolina Film Critics Association (NCFCA). Follow me @EdwinArnaudin

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.