Smart bets: Eine Kleine Rhine Musik

Germany and Austria were fertile grounds for composers in the late 18th and early 19th centuries. The Asheville Symphony Orchestra will celebrate that era’s musical masters — Joseph Haydn, Johannes Brahms and Robert Schumann — with an evening of Germanic composers. Guest conductor Courtney Lewis, the renowned director of the Jacksonville Symphony and assistant conductor of the New York Philharmonic, will guide the show. The evening will begin with Brahms’ “Variations on a Theme by Joseph Haydn,” followed by Haydn’s Cello Concerto in C featuring prodigy cellist Cicely Parnas, who is lauded for her silky style. The performance will close with Schumann’s Symphony No. 3, “Rhenish.” The Asheville Symphony Orchestra will perform its “Eine Kleine Rhine Musik” program at the Thomas Wolfe Auditorium on Saturday, Jan. 14, at 8 p.m. $22-$62. Photo of Cicely Parnas by Christian Steiner


Thanks for reading through to the end…

We share your inclination to get the whole story. For the past 25 years, Xpress has been committed to in-depth, balanced reporting about the greater Asheville area. We want everyone to have access to our stories. That’s a big part of why we've never charged for the paper or put up a paywall.

We’re pretty sure that you know journalism faces big challenges these days. Advertising no longer pays the whole cost. Media outlets around the country are asking their readers to chip in. Xpress needs help, too. We hope you’ll consider signing up to be a member of Xpress. For as little as $5 a month — the cost of a craft beer or kombucha — you can help keep local journalism strong. It only takes a moment.

About Emily Glaser
Writer scribbling away in the shaky lines of the mountains.

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.