Board of Commissioners announce Comprehensive Plan steering committee members

Press release from Buncombe County:

Board of Commissioners Announce Comprehensive Plan Steering Committee Members

An important step in Buncombe County’s Comprehensive Plan 2043 process is complete, with the selection of a steering committee that will help guide and craft the vision for how we grow, live, and define our home over the next 20 years.

“The County Commissioners want to thank the more than 100 residents who applied to serve on the Steering Committee and congratulate the 23 people who were selected. We look forward to working with them and the entire community on the creation of our new comprehensive plan,” says Chair Brownie Newman.

The committee members represent all corners of Buncombe County and a diverse range of experience, from their knowledge of the community to expertise in one of the plan’s focus areas. The steering committee will provide perspective and insight on issues facing Buncombe County, feedback on draft policies and implementation,  act as a sounding board for residents, and provide networking and advocacy for the plan as the County embarks on a robust public engagement process.

The steering committee members are: Alan David Hall, Andrea Golden, Brandon Bryant, Bruce Snelson, Chris Joyell, Christopher Link, Damon Hearne, Debbie Lane, Dorothy Styles, Iliana Hernandez, Jennifer Caldwell Billstrom, Kareen Boncales, Karl Koon, Kevan Frazier, Kit Cramer, Megan O’Connor Robinson, Nancy Waldrop, Rich Lee, Robert Thomas, Robin Merrell, Ron Dumas, Sara Nichols, and Virginia Ward.

The Comprehensive Plan Steering Committee will begin meeting in September. Learn more about the Comprehensive Plan 2043.

About Community Bulletin
Mountain Xpress posts selected news and information of local interest as a public service for our readers. To submit press releases and other community material for possible publication, email

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.