Brass quintet recital at WCU to include musical salute to 125 years of the arts

Press release

From Western Carolina University:

The Smoky Mountain Brass Quintet, quintet-in-residence at Western Carolina University, will give its spring 2014 recital at 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, April 8, in a performance that will help commemorate the 125th anniversary of the founding of the institution that became WCU.

The program, titled, “Hodgepodge,” will feature works by Arthur Frackenpohl (Quintet No. 2), the world premiere of “Ovates and Coilltich” by Robert Kehrberg, “Roaring ’20s” by Bill Holcombe, “Brass Quintet” by Alexey Posin, “Adios Nonino” by Astor Piazzolla and “Fly Me to the Moon,” arranged by Jack Gale.

Kehrberg, dean of the College of Fine and Performing Arts at WCU, composed “Ovates and Coilltich” to celebrate the university’s 125th birthday, which is occurring in 2014. The piece was inspired by the early settlers and native people of the Western North Carolina region, and it is specifically dedicated to 125 years of the arts at Western Carolina University, Kehrberg said.

“The title of the piece suggests a loose association of the words in Gaelic and reference a bard and red warrior in some literature translations. The tie to the region served by WCU and its historical culture is by design,” he said. “The changing textures of the piece are intended to reflect the many changes of the past 125 years at Western Carolina University.”

The performance is open to the public free of charge. It will take place in the recital hall of the Coulter Building on the WCU campus. For more information, call the School of Music at 828-227-7242.

About Lea McLellan
Lea McLellan is a freelance writer who likes to write stories about music, art, food, wellness and interesting locals doing interesting things.

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.