Buncombe County Farm Service Agency county committee nominations open through August 1

From the Madison/Buncombe Farm Service Agency:

Farm Service Agency County Committee Nomination Period in Buncombe County Now Open

(Marshall, NC), June 1, 2017 – U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) Executive Director Charles E. Zink in Buncombe County today announced that the nomination period for local FSA county committees begins on Thursday, June 15. Nomination forms must be postmarked or received in the Buncombe County FSA office by close of business on August 1, 2017.

County committees are unique to FSA and allow producers to have a voice on federal farm program implementation at the local level,” says Zink. “It is also important that committees are comprised of members who fairly represent the diverse demographics of production agriculture for their community. I encourage all producers, including women, minority and beginning farmers and ranchers, to participate in the nomination and election process.”

To be eligible to serve on the FSA county committee, a person must participate or cooperate in an agency-administered program, be eligible to vote in a county committee election and reside in the local administrative area where they are nominated.

This year, nominations and elections will be held in local administrative area 3, which includes Asheville, Avery’s Creek, Black Mountain, Broad River, Fairview, Limestone, Swannanoa, and West Buncombe communities.

Producers may nominate themselves or others as candidates. Organizations representing minority and women farmers and ranchers may also nominate candidates. To become a nominee, eligible individuals must sign an FSA-669A nomination form. The form and more information about FSA county committee elections are available online at www.fsa.usda.gov/elections.

Elected county committee members serve a three-year term and are responsible for making decisions on FSA disaster, conservation, commodity and price support programs, as well as other important federal farm program issues. County committees consist of three to 11 members.

FSA will mail election ballots to eligible voters beginning November 6, 2017. Ballots are due back in the Buncombe County FSA Office by mail or in person no later than December 4, 2017. All newly elected county committee members and alternates will take office January 1, 2018.

Nominating potential county committee members, voting for candidates and serving on the committees are truly services to your community and the agriculture industry,” says Zink. “County committee members make important decisions on how federal farm programs are administered locally to best serve local needs and interests.”

For more information about county committees, please contact the Buncombe County FSA office at 828-649-2712 or visit www.fsa.usda.gov/elections.

About Max Hunt
Max Hunt grew up in South (New) Jersey and graduated from Warren Wilson College in 2011. History nerd; art geek; connoisseur of swimming holes, hot peppers, and plaid clothing. Follow me @J_MaxHunt

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.