Buncombe Schools announce Teacher of the Year finalists

Here’s the press release from Buncombe County Schools:

BCS Teacher of the Year Finalists for 2012-13

Buncombe County Schools is proud to announce the finalists for the 2012-2013 Teacher of the Year Award. Teachers were selected representing each of the county’s six school districts:

REYNOLDS: Cindy Dearman, A. C. Reynold Middle
OWEN: Dawn Rookey, Owen High
ERWIN: Christine Jones, Early College
ENKA: JB Halpin, Pisgah Elementary
NORTH BUNCOMBE: Lorie McFee, North Buncombe High
TC ROBERSON: Colleen Robertson, Progressive Education Program

Candidates were selected by reviewing their submitted portfolios and by a committee interview process. In the last phase of the selection process, finalists will be visited in their classrooms and also be asked to present speeches.

The BCS 2012-2013 Teacher of the Year will be announced at the annual banquet, sponsored by Pierce Group Benefits, on Tuesday, September 18th at the Renaissance Asheville Hotel.

About Jake Frankel
Jake Frankel is an award-winning journalist who enjoys covering a wide range of topics, from politics and government to business, education and entertainment.

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.