City announces nominees for downtown Asheville BID board

From the Asheville City Council agenda, the proposed members for the board of the proposed downtown Business Improvement District:

At the October 9, 2012, formal meeting, City Council adopted a resolution creating a downtown Municipal Service District, also known as a Business Improvement District, in downtown Asheville. The resolution states “that a permanent board of directors for the BID be appointed no later than December 15, 2012.” The resolution does not state how the initial permanent board of directors would come into being and therefore, Council suggested creation of a nominating committee of two City Council members and three interim Board members and the five of those appoint two additional people to bring a recommended slate of initial permanent board members to the City Council.

In addition to Jan Davis and Marc Hunt, the nominating committee consisted of Kim MacQueen, George Saenger, Lou Bissette, and Adrian Vassallo. The application process was advertised and a total of 29 applications from well-qualified candidates were received by the nominating committee through November 16, to ensure consideration. The committee was pleased with applicant response, which made the recommendation process extremely competitive and difficult to narrow down. The application and selection process emphasized diverse representation of the downtown business district to include: major real estate property owner within the BID area (property above $10 million tax value), small/medium real estate property owner within the BID area (property under $10 million tax value), resident living within the BID area, office tenant operating within the BID area, and owner or operator of a retail business or restaurant within the BID area.

The recommended slate of initial permanent board members are:

John Monroe, Southern Development of NC
John McKibbon, Aloft Hotel
David Brown, D.L.B Properties
Rick Jackson, McGuire, Wood & Bissette
Jim Samsel, Samsel Architects
Karen Tessier, Market Connections
Susan Griffin, downtown resident
Kim MacQueen, downtown resident
Mary Robinson, Roberts & Stevens, P.A.
Ruth Summers, Grove Arcade Foundation
Michel Baudoin, Bouchon & Creperie Bouchon
Franzie Charen, Hip Replacements, Asheville Grown Business Alliance
Stephanie Swepson-Twitty, Eagle Market Street Development Corporation
Dwight Butner, Vincenzos Restaurant

In addition to the recommended slate of board members, the Asheville City Council shall appoint one board member as an ex-officio voting member of the board, as shall the Buncombe County Commissioners and Asheville Downtown Association. Once these appointments are made, this will bring the total board number to 17.


Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.