Former Rep. Heath Shuler headlining Leadership Asheville’s annual luncheon

From UNC Asheville:

Heath Shuler, senior vice president of federal affairs for Duke Energy Progress, will deliver the keynote address at Leadership Asheville’s fifth Annual Luncheon on Thursday, September 26, 11:30 a.m. – 1:30 p.m., at the Renaissance Asheville Hotel. The celebration of last year’s Leadership Asheville 31 class also will include the presentation of the 2013 Community Trustee Award to Allison Jordan, executive director of Children First. This event is open to the public and tickets are available at for $35.

For more than 30 years, Leadership Asheville has developed, connected and mobilized citizens through intensive programs and events focused on community orientation and leadership development. Now a part of UNC Asheville’s community outreach programs, the non-partisan organization works to make a difference in the region, where graduates continue to have an impact long after their program graduation. The annual luncheon provides an inspirational networking opportunity for program graduates as well as leaders from local government, businesses, and the nonprofit communities.

Luncheon keynote speaker Shuler serves as senior vice president of federal affairs for Duke Energy Progress. He oversees Duke Energy’s Washington, D.C. office and is responsible for structuring and steering a successful government relations program for the company’s diverse businesses. In addition, Shuler works with national trade associations representing the electric, natural gas and nuclear energy industries.

Shuler previously served as a member of the U.S. House of Representatives for North Carolina’s 11th Congressional District. He served as chairman of the House Small Business Subcommittee on Rural and Urban Entrepreneurship during the 110th and 111th Congresses. Before being elected to Congress in 2007, he founded a real estate company in Eastern Tennessee that grew into one of the largest in the region. Prior to that, he played quarterback in the NFL.

The 2013 Annual Luncheon Committee includes chair, Leisa Capps, and members Eileen Hutchison, and Laurie Moorhead. It is presented by sponsor Lenoir-Rhyne University Center for Graduate Studies of Asheville.


Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.