Haywood County receives Major Disaster Declaration for Tropical Storm Fred damage

Press release from Haywood County Emergency Services:

Haywood County is pleased to share the good news that the White House and FEMA have granted the request for a major disaster declaration for several North Carolina counties including Haywood.

This disaster declaration means that the nearly 700 households in Haywood County affected by Tropical Storm Fred will now be eligible for much-needed federal assistance.

“This federal disaster declaration will help provide assistance for Western North Carolina communities to rebuild stronger and smarter, and I appreciate the president’s approval of our request,” said Gov. Cooper. 

On behalf of the Board of County Commissioners:
“In the weeks since the August 17 floods, Haywood County has experienced trials unlike anything we have seen since 2004. Six lives were tragically lost, hundreds of homes and buildings were destroyed, bridges and roads are torn apart, and lives changed forever. Our prayers continue to be with the families affected by this flood. Today’s declaration will make it possible for Haywood County to find a path to healing and a brighter future. While no financial assistance can truly recover what was lost, this does represent a step forward and we are grateful for the assistance from the Governor, FEMA, and the White House,” said Kevin Ensley, Chairman of the Haywood County Board of Commissioners.

On behalf of Emergency Services:
“From the first notice that flooding was happening to today’s declaration, Haywood County teams have been on the ground working to help save lives, protect property, and bring hope and comfort to those affected. A declaration means that now we will have the support of the federal government backing up our local resources and supporting our recovery. It is our promise that these resources will be used to help Haywood become an even stronger and more resilient community than we were before the storm,” said Travis Donaldson, Directory of Emergency Services.

On behalf of the Cruso community:
“The Cruso community has been hit harder by this disaster than we ever expected to be but through it all, we have come together as neighbors to help lift each other up. In the way that only Haywood County can, we took care of each other. Today, we are grateful that the federal help we have asked for has been granted so that recovery can move forward,” said Tim Henson, Chief, Cruso Fire & Rescue.

On behalf of the Town of Clyde:
“We are grateful for this declaration so our community can start the rebuilding process and assistance can begin for our residents,” said Town of Clyde Mayor Jim Trantham.

On behalf of the Town of Canton:
“The Town of Canton is both relieved and grateful for the Major Disaster Declaration from FEMA. Our community experienced tremendous damage and loss during this devastating storm and we welcome any assistance to rebuild our Town.  As we move towards recovery, we need as many partners and resources as possible and we hope that this declaration is a catalyst for rebuilding a stronger and more resilient future,” said Canton Town Manager Nick Scheuer.

In a statement from the White House: 
The President’s action makes Federal funding available to affected individuals in the counties of Buncombe, Haywood, and Transylvania.

Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Federal funding also is available to state, tribal, and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the remnants of Tropical Storm Fred in the counties of Avery, Buncombe, Haywood, Madison, Transylvania, Watauga, and Yancey.

Finally, Federal funding is available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated counties can begin applying for assistance by registering online at http://www.DisasterAssistance.gov or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA(3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired.  The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. (local time) seven days a week until further notice.
About Community Bulletin
Mountain Xpress posts selected news and information of local interest as a public service for our readers. To submit press releases and other community material for possible publication, email news@mountainx.com.

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.