Leadership Asheville announces 36th class

NEW CLASS: Members of the new group of Leadership Asheville participants. Photo courtesy of UNC Asheville

Press release from UNC Asheville:

Leadership Asheville, a program of UNC Asheville, announces the selection of Class 36. With 49 participants from the private and public sectors, the class of 2018 (LA 36) is now beginning its work in collaborative community leadership. Leadership Asheville promotes the development of leadership skills through experiential exercises, site visits, discussions with community leaders, and planning and completion of hands-on projects in small teams, in partnership with community service organizations.

LA 36 will be engaged in projects with the following organizations: Asheville GreenWorks, Bounty and Soul, Buncombe County Schools Foundation, Carolina Public Press, Community Health Improvement Process (CHIP), Homeward Bound, Irene Wortham Center, Green Opportunities and T.H.E. Center for Disordered Eating.

Those registered for Leadership Asheville class of 2018 are: Melissa Atallah, BorgWarner; Meghan Baker, NC Cooperative Extension; Andy Barnett, Asheville Area Habitat for Humanity; Justin Bland Roots & Fruits Market; Bryan Boone, TD Bank; Jenny Boyer, The Van Winkle Law Firm; Liz Britton, Dixon Hughes Goodman LLP; Bonnie Childers, Girl Scouts Carolinas – Peaks to Piedmont; Dustin Clark, Buncombe County; Brent Coyle, Park Ridge Hospital; Betsy Cunagin, Parsec Financial; Keaton Edwards, G/M Property Group, LLC; Belva Evans, First Bank; Jake Farrar, Merithew Law, PLLC; Doug Fast, Mission Health; Dana Frankel, City of Asheville; Marie Gaddy, Eliada Homes, Inc.; Anna Garrett, Dr. Anna Garrett; Nadine Gnall, Asheville Humane Society; Jessica Hendrix, YMCA of Western North Carolina; Bobby Hensley, Western Carolina University; Amy Jessee, UNC Asheville; Monroe Keyserling, The University of Michigan; Melissa Kledis, Junior League of Asheville; Jessica Ledger, BorgWarner; Dave Luzum, Consultant; Marisha MacMorran, Celine and Company Catering; Paul Mayes, BorgWarner; Courtney Money-McIntosh, Amplified Media; Mary-Kathryn Moore, Waste Pro USA; Ciro Piccirillo, HomeTrust Bank; Matt Peiken, Blue Ridge Public Radio; Drew Pollick, Craft HR Solutions; Elaine Potter, Gray Line Trolley Tours; John Rakes, ABCCM; Megan Robinson, The Collider; Lisa Rothman, McGuire, Wood & Bissette, PA; Peggy Rowe, City of Asheville; Marie Sales, Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville; Nora Scheff, Eliada Homes, Inc.; Jill Sparks, A-B Tech; Heidi Swann, aSHEville Museum; Alli Trask, American Red Cross; Ben Underwood, UNC Asheville; Katie Wadington, Asheville Citizen-Times; Gay Weber, III, Carolina Mornings, Inc.; Maria Weider, YWCA of Asheville; Chris Wing, Wing Consulting, LLC; JoAnn Yoder, Brumit Restaurant Group.

For more information, visit leadershipasheville.unca.edu or call 828-255-7100.

About Community Bulletin
Mountain Xpress posts selected news and information of local interest as a public service for our readers. To submit press releases and other community material for possible publication, email news@mountainx.com.

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.