N.C. Democrats host 10th Congressional District convention

District 10 Democrats looking toward 2014 campaigns
Convention delegates elect leaders, hear from NCDP Chair Randy Voller

Press release from
the N.C. Democratic Party

SHELBY, N. C. (May 18, 2013)—A call to action toward victory in 2014 general elections brought an enthusiastic response from delegates to the 10th Congressional District Democratic Convention here today. That rousing message was brought by Randy Voller, chair of the North Carolina Democratic Party and keynote speaker at the 10th’s first annual convention since redistricting.

The district now comprises all of Polk, Rutherford, Cleveland, Gaston, and Lincoln counties, most of Catawba County, and the Asheville area of Buncombe. Each county was well represented by delegations elected at county conventions held in April. After morning workshops including a session on proposed changes to N. C. voting laws, delegates in convention session also elected district officers and approved resolutions to be sent forward to the state party.

Betsy Wells of Cleveland County was re-elected district chair. Other district leaders elected to new two-year terms are Aixa I. Wilson of Buncombe County, first vice chair; Christopher L. Thomason of Gaston, second vice chair; Pete L. Santos of Polk, third vice chair; Laura N. Parnell of Catawba, secretary; and Donna Luckey of Lincoln, treasurer.

They’ll guide the District’s Executive Committee, which also comprises the Democratic chair and vice chair from each of the local county parties and some others by virtue of position such as Democratic elected officials.

Chair Wells commended the county parties for smoothly coming together after redistricting “without missing a beat,” building on earlier working relationships and forging new ones. “With the unity, focus, and optimism I see building among us, we’ll make a big difference in 2014,” she said.


Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.