N.C. League of Conservation Voters sees gains in elections

Press release

from N.C. League of Conservation Voters

In spite of an election season where environmental issues were seldom mentioned, voters turned out to elect pro-conservation candidates. Of the 18 NCLCV endorsed NC Senate candidates, 11 were victorious. The NC House saw an equally satisfying run with 32 of the 50 endorsed candidates claiming the win. The successful candidates also include 13 former recipients of an NCLCV Green Tie Award for their achievements and support of conservation efforts. A summary of NCLCV endorsed candidate with results is included below.

Dan Crawford, director of governmental relations for NCLCV, said, “Overall it was a successful night, we welcome these newly elected members and look forward to educating them on environmental issues.”


North Carolina State Senate Races
District 5 – Former Senator Don Davis, D-Greene – WON
District 14 – Sen. Dan Blue, D-Wake – WON
District 15 – Senator Neal Hunt, R-Wake – WON
District 16 – Sen. Josh Stein, D-Wake* – WON
District 23 – Sen. Ellie Kinnaird, D-Orange* – WON
District 28 – Sen. Gladys Robinson, D-Guilford – WON
District 32 – Sen. Earline Parmon, D-Forsyth – WON
District 37 – Sen. Dan Clodfelter, D-Mecklenburg – WON
District 38 – Joel Ford, D-Mecklenburg – WON
District 40 – Sen. Malcolm Graham, D-Mecklenburg – WON
District 49 – Sen. Martin Nesbitt, D-Buncombe – WON

North Carolina State House Races
District 2 – Rep. Winkie Wilkins, D-Person – WON
District 5 – Rep. Annie Mobley, D-Hertford – WON
District 7 – Rep. Angela Bryant, D-Nash* – WON
District 11 – Duane Hall, D-Wake – WON
District 18 – Rep. Susi Hamilton, D-New Hanover – WON
District 21 – Rep. Larry Bell, D-Sampson – WON
District 23 – Rep. Joe Tolson, D-Edgecombe – WON
District 24 – Rep. Jean Farmer-Butterfield, D-Wilson* – WON
District 27 – Rep. Michael Wray, D-Northampton – WON
District 29 – Rep. Larry Hall, D-Durham – WON
District 30 – Rep. Paul Luebke, D-Durham* – WON
District 31 – Rep. Henry M. Michaux, D-Durham – WON
District 32 – Nathan Baskerville, D-Vance – WON
District 33 – Rep. Rosa Gill, D-Wake* – WON
District 34 – Rep. Deborah Ross, D-Wake – WON
District 38 – Yvonne Lewis Holley, D-Wake – WON
District 39 – Rep. Darren Jackson, D-Wake* – WON
District 42 – Rep. Marvin Lucas, D-Cumberland – WON
District 44 – Rep. Rick Glazier, D-Cumberland* – WON
District 50 – Valerie Foushee, D-Orange – WON
District 54 – Deb McManus, D-Chatham – WON
District 56 – Rep. Verla Insko, D-Orange* – WON
District 57 – Rep. Pricey Harrison, D-Guilford* – WON
District 58 – Rep. Alma Adams, D-Guilford – WON
District 66 – Rep. Ken Goodman, D-Richmond – WON
District 100 – Rep. Tricia Ann Cotham, D-Mecklenburg* – WON
District 101 – Rep. Beverly Earle, D-Mecklenburg – WON
District 102 – Rep. Becky Carney, D-Mecklenburg* – WON
District 106 – Carla Cunningham, D-Mecklenburg – WON
District 114 – Rep. Susan Fisher, D-Buncombe – WON
District 117 – Rep. Chuck McGrady, R-Henderson* – WON
District 119 – Former Senator Joe Sam Queen, D-Haywood – WON

NCLCV is a statewide conservation organization dedicated to protecting the health of our communities and natural resources. We advocate for sound environmental policies and work to hold our decision-makers accountable for their environmental decisions. NCLCV established its non-partisan Conservation Political Action Committee (CPAC) to support candidates who will protect the health and future of North Carolinians by being good stewards of our air, water, and land resources.


Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.