NC Press Association announces 2013 news, editorial & photojournalism contest winners

Three WNC newspapers received awards for the 2013 News, Editorial and Photojournalism Contest held by The North Carolina Press Association. Black Mountain News placed second for a General Excellence award in the category of “community newspapers between 3,500 and 10,000 circulation.” The Mountaineer and Smoky Mountain News, both out of Waynesville, placed first and third, respectively, for General Excellence in the category of “community newspapers over 10,000 circulation.”

Caitlin Bowling and Becky Johnson of Smoky Mountain News placed first for awards in community service, and Andrew Kasper of Smoky Mountain News won a media and law award, sponsored by the North Carolina Bar Association, in the community division.

Press Release

From North Carolina Press Association:

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. – The North Carolina Press Association announced the winners in the 2013 News, Editorial & Photojournalism Contest during the 2014 Winter Institute and Annual Meeting on Feb. 27.

The annual General Excellence awards, considered the top prize in each circulation division, recognize the best in mechanical excellence, general and departmental news coverage, literary excellence, promotion of community interests, graphics and appearance, editorial vigor, use of photographs and advertising enterprise.

• Community newspapers under 3,500 circulation
o First: Tideland News, Swansboro
o Second: The Perquimans Weekly, Hertford
o Third: The News-Journal, Raeford

• Community newspapers between 3,500 and 10,000 circulation
o First: The Wake Weekly, Wake Forest
o Second: Black Mountain News
o Third: Bertie Ledger-Advance, Windsor

• Community newspapers over 10,000 circulation
o First: The Mountaineer, Waynesville
o Second: The Franklin Press
o Third: Smoky Mountain News, Waynesville

• Daily newspapers under 12,500 circulation
o First: The Sanford Herald
o Second: The Wilson Times
o Third: The Daily Advance, Elizabeth City

• Daily newspapers between 12,500 and 35,000 circulation
o First: The Star, Shelby
o Second: Salisbury Post
o Third: The Daily Reflector, Greenville

• Daily newspapers over 35,000 circulation
o First: The Fayetteville Observer
o Second: The News & Observer, Raleigh
o Third: Winston-Salem Journal

Hugh Morton Photographer of the Year

This award is named in honor of the late owner of Grandfather Mountain in North Carolina, an avid supporter of photography and newspapers. The award is sponsored by Mountain Times Publications in Boone.

• Community newspaper winner: Mark Schultz, Chapel Hill News
• Daily newspaper winner: Scott Muthersbaugh, The Times-News, Burlington

Community and Public Service Awards
Newspaper projects that went beyond routine reporting and provided valuable service to readers received awards in the Community Service and Public Service categories.

• Community service (community newspapers only)
o First: Caitlin Bowling and Becky Johnson, Smoky Mountain News, Waynesville
o Second: Staff, Carteret County News-Times, Morehead City
o Third: Ken Fortenberry, news@norman, Denver

• Public service (daily under 25,000 circulation)
o First: Nash Dunn and Chad Killebrew, The Dispatch, Lexington
o Second: Staff, The Wilson Times

• Public service (daily over 25,000 circulation)
o First: John Ramsey, The Fayetteville Observer
o Second: John Railey, Winston-Salem Journal
o Third: Staff, The Charlotte Observer

Henry Lee Weathers Freedom of Information Award
• Under 20,000 circulation: Corey Friedman and Jon Jimison, The Wilson Times
• Over 20,000 circulation: Bruce Henderson, Cameron Steele and Gavin Off, The Charlotte Observer

Duke University/Green-Rossiter Award for Distinguished Newspaper Work in High Education
• Community division: Kristy Bailey, The Alamance News, Graham
• Daily division: Jane Stancill, Dan Kane and J. Andrew Curliss, The News & Observer, Raleigh

Media and Law Awards, sponsored by the North Carolina Bar Association
• Daily division: Jon Jimison, The Wilson Times
• Community division: Andrew Kasper, Smoky Mountain News, Waynesville
• Best series: Gary Wright, Cleve Wootson and Fred Clasen-Kelly, The Charlotte Observer

A complete list of winners in all categories and divisions is available at
NCPA is one of the oldest newspaper advocacy organizations in the nation. Founded in 1873, it lobbies for newspapers and open government, provides free right-to-know legal advice and access brochures to newspapers and their readers, offers professional development opportunities for members and administers one of the largest editorial contests in the nation.

About Hayley Benton
Current freelance journalist and artist. Former culture/entertainment reporter at the Asheville Citizen-Times and former news reporter at Mountain Xpress. Also a coffee drinker, bad photographer, teller of stupid jokes and maker-upper of words. I can be reached at hayleyebenton [at] Follow me @HayleyTweeet

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.