Six Asheville natives inducted into Phi Beta Kappa at UNC Chapel Hill

Press release from UNC Chapel Hill:

Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s oldest and most honored college honorary society, inducted 260 University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill students as new members. Less than 1% of all college students qualify for acceptance.

The recent induction ceremony featured remarks by chapter officers and a keynote address by Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost J. Christopher Clemens, Jaroslav Folda Distinguished Professor of Physics and Astronomy.

Past and present Phi Beta Kappa members from across the country have included 17 American presidents, 42 U.S. Supreme Court Justices, more than 150 Nobel Laureates and numerous artistic, intellectual and political leaders.

Phi Beta Kappa membership is open to undergraduates in college and professional degree programs who meet stringent eligibility requirements. A student who has completed 75 hours of course work in the liberal arts and sciences with a GPA of 3.85 or better on a 4-point scale is eligible for membership. Also eligible is any student who has completed 105 hours of course work in the liberal arts and sciences with a 3.75 GPA. Grades earned at other universities are not considered.

Phi Beta Kappa has 293 chapters nationwide. UNC-Chapel Hill’s chapter, Alpha of North Carolina, was founded in 1904 and is the oldest of eight chapters in the state.
Each year, Phi Beta Kappa chapters and alumni associations across the country raise and distribute more than $1 million in awards, scholarships and prizes benefiting high schools and college students.

Phi Beta Kappa officers at Carolina for 2022-23 are students Ayaka Uehara, president; Sierra Foster, vice president; and Hans Oh, recording secretary. James L. Leloudis, professor of history, Peter T. Grauer associate dean for Honors Carolina, and director of the James M. Johnston Center for Undergraduate Excellence, are chapter executive secretary and faculty advisor.

Buncombe County  
Bryn Copenhaver, a senior with a biology major and a chemistry minor, of Asheville.

Ezra A. Cross, a senior with neuroscience and political science majors and a data science minor, of Asheville.

Reed Shepherd Frellick, a senior with statistics and analytics and computer science majors, of Asheville.

Kaelyn R. Hixson, a senior with history and English and comparative literature majors and a creative writing minor, of Asheville.

Hunter Gabriel Steen, a senior with peace, war, and defense and global studies majors and a German minor, of Asheville.

Ivy Carter Young, a senior with a media and journalism major and a philosophy, politics, and economics minor, of Asheville.

About Community Bulletin
Mountain Xpress posts selected news and information of local interest as a public service for our readers. To submit press releases and other community material for possible publication, email

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.