Town Mountain takes home two IBMA Momentum Awards

Local bluegrass band Town Mountain won two International Bluegrass Music Association Momentum Awards. The winners were announced today in Raleigh. “This honor, which debuted during last year’s convention, is meant to bring attention to artists and business people in the early stages of their career, and more experienced members of the community who are helping bring new artists along,” says Bluegrass Today. “IBMA doesn’t specifically limit Momentum Awards to younger artists, though the winners tend in that direction by the nature of the award.”

Town Mountain was honored as Band of the Year and its lead signer, Robert Greer, was named Vocalist of the Year.

The complete list of awards is:

• Instrumentalist of the Year: Chris Luquette
• Vocalist of the Year: Robert Greer
• Band of the Year: Town Mountain
• New Festival or Venue of the Year: Bluegrass on the Plains
• Industry Involvement of the Year: Danny Clark
• Mentor of the Year: Denise Stiff


Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.