Filing period for 2010 elections begins

Monday, Feb. 8, marked the official start of the 2010 election season, and aspiring candidates have already begun signing up.

The filing period runs through noon on Friday, Feb. 26. Early voting for the primary will start Thursday, April 15, and run through Saturday, May 1, with the primary election set for Tuesday, May 4. The general election will be held Tuesday, Nov. 2, with early voting running Oct. 14-30.

This year, local sheriffs, county commissioners, school-board members, clerks of court, judges and district attorneys will be on the ballot, along with all members of the state House and Senate. In Western North Carolina, U.S. Rep. Heath Shuler is also up for re-election.

Here's a look at who's filed so far:

Chris Dixon of Arden, a Democrat, is running for the 48th N.C. Senate District, which covers Buncombe, Henderson and Polk counties. The seat is held by Republican Sen. Tom Apodaca of Hendersonville.

In the 114th N.C. House District, Rep. Susan Fisher, a Buncombe County Democrat, is seeking another term. Republican John Carroll is also vying for the seat.

In the 115th N.C. House District, Rep. Bruce Goforth, another Buncombe County Democrat, is also seeking re-election. He's facing a Democratic primary challenge from former Buncombe County Commissioner Patsy Keever.

State Rep. Jane Whilden is seeking re-election in the 116th N.C. House District.

And Buncombe County Clerk of Court Steve Cogburn, a Democrat who was appointed to fill the seat for the retiring Bob Christy, will run for election, facing a challenge from Republican John Sutton Jr. of Candler.

For more information, visit the Buncombe County Election Services Web site, or call 250-4200.


Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.