And then there were 15

A total of 15 people will be vying for three Asheville City Council seats that will be in play this November in a nonpartisan contest.

The filing deadline was Aug. 20, with three final residents (Donna Bateman, Steve Bledsoe and William C. Meredith) placing their names in contention for seats currently held by Council members Jan Davis, Bryan Freeborn and Brownie Newman.

The group will clash in the Oct. 9 primary, with the top six vote-getters moving on to the Nov. 6 general election.

The final slate of candidates are (in alphabetical order):

• Donna Bateman
• Steve Bledsoe
• Dwight Butner
• Christopher Chiaromonte
• Jan Davis (incumbent)
• Bryan Freeborn (incumbent)
• Matthew Hebb
• Bobby Johnston
• Elaine Lite
• William C. Meredith
• Brownie Newman (incumbent)
• Bill Russell
• Lindsey Simerly
• Selina D. Sullivan
• Dee Williams

Be sure to check out the Aug. 29 issue of Xpress, where we will we conclude our ongoing mini-profiles of the candidates, this time featuring the batch of persons to file.

—Hal L. Millard, staff writer


Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

One thought on “And then there were 15

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.