Asheville City Council names newest Planning & Zoning board members

Jane Mathews, Kristy Carter, and Jeremy Goldstein are Asheville’s newest Planning and Zoning Commission members, according to live Twitter dispatches from Xpress Senior News Reporter David Forbes from Asheville City Council’s Aug. 23 meeting.

Earlier today, Council members interviewed nine candidates for three spots on the board: Abigail Emison, Mark Mathews, Joe Minicozzi, David Mosrie, Steve Rasmussen, Jane Mathews, Kristy Carter, Bruce Green and Jeremy Goldstein.

In an online poll in the last few days, we asked readers who’d they vote for: Mark Mathews, Rasmussen and Joe Minicozzi topped the poll.

But Council members’ picks were as follows (we’re trying to confirm missing selections at this time — it is sometimes hard to hear in the high-ceiling Council chambers):

Cecil Bothwell: Joe Minicozzi, Jane Mathews, Steve Rasmussen

Esther Manheimer: Jeremy Goldstein, Abigal Emison, Kristy Carter

Brownie Newman: Carter, David Mosrie, Jane Mathews

Gordon Smith: [Jane] Mathews, Minicozzi, Mosrie

Mayor Terry Bellamy: [Jane] Mathews, Goldstein, Minicozzi

Bill Russell: Emison, Goldstein, Carter

Jan Davis??


Thanks for reading through to the end…

We share your inclination to get the whole story. For the past 25 years, Xpress has been committed to in-depth, balanced reporting about the greater Asheville area. We want everyone to have access to our stories. That’s a big part of why we've never charged for the paper or put up a paywall.

We’re pretty sure that you know journalism faces big challenges these days. Advertising no longer pays the whole cost. Media outlets around the country are asking their readers to chip in. Xpress needs help, too. We hope you’ll consider signing up to be a member of Xpress. For as little as $5 a month — the cost of a craft beer or kombucha — you can help keep local journalism strong. It only takes a moment.

About Margaret Williams
Editor Margaret Williams first wrote for Xpress in 1994. An Alabama native, she has lived in Western North Carolina since 1987 and completed her Masters of Liberal Arts & Sciences from UNC-Asheville in 2016. Follow me @mvwilliams

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

6 thoughts on “Asheville City Council names newest Planning & Zoning board members

  1. Jake

    I see the “??” next to Jan Davis, and see he had to have voted for Carter and Goldstein, as candidates needed four votes to be elected in the first round. Was his third vote for Emison?

  2. Bill&Suzi;

    Davis voted Goldstein, Emison, Carter

    Just like Manheimer and Russell. I love it when coincidences happen like that! What a surprise.

  3. [b](we’re trying to confirm missing selections at this time — it is sometimes hard to hear in the high-ceiling Council chambers)[/b]

    (move up front and get one of those three-dollar spy headsets)


  4. Bill&Suzi;

    …or how about taking your eyes off your twitter account, and actually “listen” to the hearing. A pencil and paper is also a great way to take notes as we won’t die if we get information a minute late. Correct always trumps timely.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.