Dems poised to sweep state legislative seats

With 94 of 96 precincts reporting, it appears Democrats will take the N.C. House and Senate seats for Buncombe County districts. Incumbents Sen. Martin Nesbitt and Rep. D. Bruce Goforth will keep their seats, while Jane Whilden won a close race to take a seat left open by Republican Charles Thomas. Rep. Susan Fisher, meanwhile, ran unopposed and won again.

The unofficial results list the following preliminary totals (listed first as number of votes and then as percentage of votes cast):

N.C. House 114: Susan C. Fisher (Dem):  28,149   100%

N.C. House 115: D. Bruce Goforth (Dem): 27,670   67.46%
    Paul Purdue (Rep) :      13,349   32.54%

N.C. House 116: Jane Whilden (Dem):    19,913   51.70%
    Tim Moffett (Rep)        18,604   48.30%

N.C. Senate 49: Martin Nesbitt (Dem):  55,887   65.65%
    R.L. Clark (Rep):    29.236   34.35%

Brian Postelle, staff writer


Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.