Announcement of new city of Asheville Reparations Commission members

Press release from city of Asheville:

The Asheville City Council has approved  five seat appointments for the Community Reparations Commission representing the five impact focus areas of criminal justice, economic development, education, health care and housing.

Those members appointed by Asheville City Council are:

Dewana Little – Criminal Justice
Dr. Dwight B Mullen -Economic Development
CiCi  Weston – Education
Dr. Tamarie Macon – Healthcare
Joyce Harrison – Housing

Also announced were the names of those appointed by the historically impacted African American neighborhoods.

Burton Street
DeWayne Barton
MZ Yehudah

East End/ Valley Street
Keith Young
Glenda McDowell

Heart of Chestnut
Bernard V. Oliphant
Renata Conyers

Norma S. Baynes
Bobbette K. Mays

Midred Nance Carson
Roy Harris

Thomas Priester
Kimberly Jones

Public Housing Community in Asheville
Shaunda Jackson
Anglea Young
Aleesha Ballard

Darrin Ownes
Shekiki Jiles-Baten

These members were selected through a neighborhood nomination process, and the selection was at the discretion of the neighborhood organizations who submitted the nomination.


On July 14, 2020, the Asheville City Council passed a resolution supporting community reparations for Black Asheville.  The resolution calls for the city manager to, “establish a process within the next year to develop short, medium and long term recommendations to specifically address the creation of generational wealth and to boost economic mobility and opportunity in the black community.”

You can find more information about the Reparations on Public Input here.

The Community Reparations Commission is charged with developing recommendations to be presented to the City Council and County Commission to repair the harm done by decades of racial discrimination and systemic oppression against Black Asheville residents. The reparations process in Asheville will focus on five impact areas which include housing, economic development, health, education, and criminal justice.

The Commission final composition it’s of 25 members; 15 commission members will be nominated by persons from historically impacted neighborhoods, to include public housing and former historically African American neighborhoods (for example Stumptown).

The Community Reparations Commission members will contribute approximately 5-10 hours per month, possibly up to 18 to 24 months.

About Community Bulletin
Mountain Xpress posts selected news and information of local interest as a public service for our readers. To submit press releases and other community material for possible publication, email

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.