The Langren Hotel opened on July 4, 1912. It had 210 rooms and was capable of accommodating 500 guests. The city celebrated the new hostelry. Meanwhile, the Asheville Gazette News declared it “the most important achievement in the way of provision for the tourist business, in western North Carolina in a decade.”
Kimberlee Archie came on board city staff as Asheville’s first equity and inclusion manager last July. In honor of Martin Luther King Day, Xpress asked Archie to share her thoughts on King’s legacy and how it applies to the continuing effort to create equity in Asheville.
In 1919, U.S. soldiers were returning home from WWI. In Asheville, a proper welcome became the source of much local debate.
On the eve of 1918, wartime efforts overshadowed revelry.
In Paula Ivaska Robbins’ latest book, On Strawberry Hill: The Transcendent Love of Gifford Pinchot and Laura Houghteling, the writer explores an unusual connection and undying love that began in West Asheville in the early 1890s.
While Asheville thrives on a diverse spiritual life, shifting demographics and evolving notions of religion’s role in daily life have many historic congregations reconsidering the part they play in local culture — and how best to address a changing community’s concerns.
Violence, illness and a coin toss would eventually lead Harry Finkelstein to Asheville, where in 1903 he opened the Asheville Pawn and Loan Office.
A new 700-page book, Cemeteries of the Smokies, published by the Great Smoky Mountains Association, serves as an exhaustive guide to graves in Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Through photographs, oral histories and scholarship, the tome also sheds light on the unique world of Appalachian burial lore and traditions.
In 1929, the Grove Arcade opened. The building’s original competition date was scheduled for the summer of 1927. But the death of its developer, E.W. Grove, led to a two-year delay.
Separate incidents in Canton and Buncombe County over the past week highlight the racial tensions that have dominated headlines throughout 2017 in WNC and across the country.
Cleanup efforts are finally beginning at the CTS of Asheville Superfund site on Mills Gap Road, but past controversies and a lack of trust in Environmental Protection Agency officials continued to dominate the discussion during a Nov. 30 public meeting to review the impending remedial projects and address residents’ concerns.
In late November of 1917, Asheville, along with the rest of the country, was preparing for its first Thanksgiving since entering World War I.
Members of the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians talk about Thanksgiving and indigenous food culture.
In October of 1918, as the flu pandemic infected Asheville residents, the Masonic Temple opened its doors to the city’s sick African-American population.
On Feb. 11, 1932, after sitting vacant for two years, local contractor P.W. Bordner began razing the old post office. Along with replacing it with a park, the city planned to widen the property’s surrounding streets.
A new herd of Berkshire hogs signifies a larger effort by the Biltmore Estate to honor its agricultural past in a way that also provides local, sustainably raised fare for the 21st-century palates of those dining at its restaurants.
From stuffing to pumpkin pie, take a look at the history behind some of our favorite holiday foods, and learn some ideas for giving them a flavorful makeover.
Xpress joins paranormal investigator Joshua P. Warren and company as they delve into mysterious rumors of secret tunnels hidden beneath the Asheville Masonic Temple.
On July 1, 1902, the ostrich farm opened on the corner of Merrimon and Coleman avenues. Tragedy and mayhem would ensue.
The annual food festival featured a panel discussion with local chefs Susi Gott Séguret and Mike Moore on the history and evolution of Appalachian cuisine.
In the mid-1920s, a daredevil arrived to Asheville ready to scale the city’s tallest buildings.