Book Report: December book events

• Meet some of the freaks from Arts2People‘s Freaks of Asheville 2010 Calendar. A signing is to be held at Craggie Brewing Company (197 Hilliard Ave., Asheville, 254-0360). 4:30-10:30 p.m.

• Bookends Used Bookstore (at Pack Memorial Library, 67 Haywood St., Asheville, 250-4700) holds a blowout book sale on Friday, Dec. 11, 10 a.m.-4 p.m. Hardbacks and videos are 24 cents each, paperbacks and children’s books are 10 cents each. Return to the sale on Saturday, Dec. 12, 10 a.m.-4 p.m. for half off Friday’s sale prices. Bring your own boxes and bags; proceeds benefit Friends of the Library.

•  Paul Weidknecht and Emily P. W. Murphy will both be included in the anthology A Christmas Sampler: Sweet, Funny, and Strange Holiday Tales, published by the Bethlehem Writers Group. Both authors will sign books at Mountain Lore Books & More (408 N. Main St., Hendersonville, 693-5096) on Saturday, Dec. 19 at 1 p.m. and at Malaprop’s (55 Haywood St., Asheville, 254-6734) on Sunday, Dec. 20 at 2 p.m.

Malaprop’s (55 Haywood St., Asheville, 254-6734) hosts the following signings:
Friday, Dec 4
• Sallie Bissell signs her series of thrillers set in the Appalachian Mountains about half-Cherokee Mary Crow, 4 p.m.
Vicki Lane signs her Elizabeth Goodweather mysteries, 5 p.m.

• Dale Wayne Slusser signs copies of In the Near Loss of Everything, 6 p.m.
• Asheville Citizen-Times reporter Dale Neal‘s novel Cow Across America is inspired in part by the raucous humor of Mark Twain. 6 p.m.

Saturday, Dec. 5
• Local New York Times bestselling author Sarah Addison Allen will sign copies of her novels, Garden Spells and The Sugar Queen. 2 p.m.
• In Life is a Verb, Patti Digh poses the question: What would you be doing today if you only had 37 days to live? 3 p.m.
• Steampunk author and one of the world’s best fantasists, Jeff Vandermeer discusses Booklife: Strategies and Survival Tips for the 21st Century Writer at 3 p.m. Signing of Finch and City of Saints and Madmen, 4 p.m.

• Joanne Mauldin signs Thomas Wolfe: When Do the Atrocities Begin? at 5 p.m.
• Richard Chess, Director of UNCA’s Center for Jewish Studies and Creative Writing Program, signs copies of Third Temple, 6 p.m.
• Catherine Reid signs In Coyote: Seeking the Hunter in our Midst, 7 p.m.

Sunday, Dec. 6
• Liesel Appel signs Wunschkind about a young girl born into and indoctrinated by a Nazi family under Hitler, 1 p.m.

Friday, Dec. 11
• Nan Chase signs Asheville: A History and Bark House Style, 3 p.m.
• Christine Hale signs Basil’s Dream, 4 p.m.

• Page Bryant, a professional psychic and intuitive counselor, signs The Spiritual Reawakening of the
Great Smoky Mountains
, 5 p.m.
• Fantasy artist Charles Vess has illustrated for countless publishers and writers, including Neil Gaiman, Susanna Clark, and George R. R. Martin. He will give a slide presentation and take questions before signing copies of his new 200 page, hardcover retrospective book, Drawing Down the Moon: The Art of Charles Vess. 7 p.m.

Saturday, Dec. 12
• Wayne Caldwell signs Cataloochee, a novel about the people affected by the formation of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. 1 p.m.
• Maria Fire signs Knit One, Haiku Too , 2 p.m.
• Hiking afficionado Danny Bernstein signs Hiking the Carolina Mountains and Hiking North Carolina’s Blue Ridge Heritage, 3 p.m.
• Robert Roskind signs copies of Memoirs of an Ex-Hippie, Rasta Heart: A Journey into One Love and 2012: The Transformation from the Love of Power to the Power of Love, 4 p.m.
• Laurel Winter signs young fantasy book Growing Wings, 6 p.m.

• Musician Nic Brown‘s first book, Floodmarkers, is about a disparate cast caught in Hurricane Hugo. 7 p.m.

Sunday, Dec. 13
• UNC Tar Heels Men’s Basketball Coach Roy Williams signs copies of Hard Work: A Life On and Off the Court at UNCA’s Justice Gym from 1:30-2:30 p.m. If you are unable to attend, call Malaprop’s to purchase a signed copy.
• Laurey Masterson, owner ofLaurey’s Catering and Gourmet-to-Go, signs copies of Elsie’s Biscuits, her culinary memoir (with recipes). 3 p.m.
• Gene Cheek, author of The Color of Love, signs Butter My Butt and Call Me a Biscuit: And Other Country Sayings, Say-Sos, Hoots, and Hollers. 4 p.m.

Friday, Dec. 18
• Investigative poet Pat Riviere-Seel signs copies of The Serial Killer’s Daughter. 3 p.m.

• Poet Holly Iglesias signs copies of Souvenirs of a Shrunken World. 4 p.m.
• Karen Chavez signs copies of Best Hikes with Dogs North Carolina. 5 p.m.
• Local author and UNCA lecturer Cynn Chadwick signs books from her lesbian fiction series including Girls with Hammers, Cat Rising and Babies, Bikes, and Broads. 6 p.m.
• Katherine Min signs copies of Secondhand World, about a Korean-American family struggling with tradition and identity. 7 p.m.

Saturday, Dec. 19
• Penelope J. Stokes signs copies ofHeartbreak Café, a novel full of Southern comfort for fans of Joshilyn Jackson and Fannie Flagg. 12 p.m.
• Celia Miles and Nancy Dillingham sign copies of Christmas Presence, a unique collection of Christmas stories, essays, poems, and memoirs by women writers who have roots in and connections to Western North Carolina. They will also sign copies Clothes Lines, a new anthology from 75 Western North Carolina women writers. 1 p.m.
• Medical pioneer, humanitarian, veteran and artist, Dr. Lewis Rathbun, talks about life in medicine and life after medicine in his memoir, A Doctor All My Life. 2 p.m.
• Karen Miller signs her children’s book Monsters and Water Beasts: Creatures of Fact or Fiction?. 3 p.m.

• Local author Terrell Garren will sign copies of his popular Civil War novels The Fifth Skull and The Secret of War. 4 p.m.
• Allan Wolf will sign copies of his young adult novel, his children’s book of poetry and his instructional children’s poetry book, Immersed in Verse. 5 p.m.

• Photo-journalist Rob Amberg has documented many aspects of mountain living in books such as Sodom Laurel Album and his latest book, The New Road: I-26 and the Footprints of Progress. 6-8 p.m.

Sunday, Dec. 20
• Susan Reinhardt signs Dishing with the Kitchen Virgin. 3 p.m.
• Mark de Castrique, sets his Sam Blackman mystery novels here in the Asheville area. 4 p.m.

Wednesday, Dec. 23
• Katherine Russell Rich signs copies of her memoir Dreaming in Hindi: Coming Awake in Another Language, about her time spent in a total immersion Hindi program in India. 2 p.m.

—Alli Marshall, A&E reporter

SHARE
About Alli Marshall
Alli Marshall is the arts section editor at Mountain Xpress. She's lived in Asheville for more than 20 years and loves live music, visual art, fiction and friendly dogs. Alli is the winner of the 2016 Thomas Wolfe Fiction Prize and the author of the novel "How to Talk to Rockstars," published by Logosophia Books. Follow me @alli_marshall

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

2 thoughts on “Book Report: December book events

  1. Don H. Appel

    “Wunschkind child without a country”by Liesel Appel,published by Grateful Steps,Inc.,Asheville,NC has been awarded a Silver Designation by Mom’s Best Awards for the catagory of Young Adult Readers.

  2. Don H. Appel

    Correction regarding the Silver Award to “Wunschkind child without a country” by Liesel
    Appel.

    Mom’s Choice Awards is the correct name of the award presenter.

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.