Moogfest announces additions to its lineup

This morning Moogfest promoters announced additions to the festival’s already extensive lineup. Among the expanded lineup:

• New Wave band Devo who formed in 1973 and crafted the hit “Whip It.”

• British musician, producer and DJ Simon Green, a.k.a. Bonobo, who played a much-lauded show in Asheville earlier this year.

• Van Dyke Parks, an L.A.-based composer whose bio reads, “Van Dyke Parks (1943-) established a recording career as artist, arranger, producer, and songwriter in 1963. In that year, he had his first professional job in movie music as arranger for ‘The Bear Necessities.’”

• Brooklyn’s Clare and The Reasons recently released their second album, Arrow on the heels of debut The Movie, which included contributions from Van Dyke Parks and Sufjan Stevens.

• Philadelphia-based jam band The Disco Biscuits.

• U.K.-based electronic musician, producer and DJ Sara Abdel-Hamid a.k.a. Ikonika.

The update from Moogfest reads, “Hey you Moogerfoogers, remember how we called this an “expanded lineup” and not the final lineup? Well, it’s still expanding and we have a few more Halloween treats for you. Devo, Bonobo, Van Dyke Parks and Clare and The Reasons will be joining Friday night’s lineup and The Disco Biscuits and Ikonika will perform on Saturday!

“Keep an eye on the moogfest 2010 website, Facebook page and Twitter feed for more artist announcements – there will be more to come. We’ll see you in Asheville, NC on Halloween weekend, October 29-31 to celebrate everything Moog.

“Tickets for moogfest 2010 go on sale today at 12 Noon Eastern Time. Weekend festival passes – along with tickets for each individual day – will be available. To purchase tickets and for more information, visit”

Click here for more info on the previously-announced lineup and schedule.

Friday, Oct. 29
Big Boi
Girl Talk
Panda Bear
Nortec Collective Presents: Bostich & Fussible
Saturn Never Sleeps (Featuring King Britt & Rucyl)
The Octopus Project

Saturday, Oct. 30
Massive Attack
Thievery Corporation
Four Tet
School of Seven Bells
Jon Hopkins
Mountain Man

Sunday, Oct. 31
Pretty Lights
Hot Chip
Dan Deacon
Two Fresh
DJ Spooky

About Alli Marshall
Alli Marshall is the arts section editor at Mountain Xpress. She's lived in Asheville for more than 20 years and loves live music, visual art, fiction and friendly dogs. Alli is the winner of the 2016 Thomas Wolfe Fiction Prize and the author of the novel "How to Talk to Rockstars," published by Logosophia Books. Follow me @alli_marshall

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

10 thoughts on “Moogfest announces additions to its lineup

  1. Sean

    Maybe Devo covered Safety Dance at some point (maybe someone wrote it from Devo?), but Men Without Hats had the hit with it.

    If you want to replace Safety Dance with another song my choice would be Girl You Want!


  2. Jimbo

    • New Wave band Devo who formed in 1973 and crafted the hits, “Whip It” and “Safety Dance.”

    Glad somebody fixed the article. It’s like none of you were around for the eighties if you confused Men Without Hats with Devo.

  3. Geoff Fobes

    The A&E department could benefit from someone who knew about music to talk about why it’s so awesome that Van Dyke Parks is coming to Asheville.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.