Board of Elections swearing-in ceremony, Tuesday, July 18

Press release from Buncombe County

New and returning Buncombe County Board of Election members will be sworn in on Tuesday, July 18 from noon-1 p.m. The swearing-in ceremony will take place in courtroom 3A of the Buncombe County Courthouse at 60 Court Plaza in downtown Asheville. New members are required to take the oath of office at noon on the Tuesday following the third Monday in July in the year of their appointment.

The State Board of Elections has appointed the following new members: Sally Whittle Stein (Dem), Mary Ann Braine (Rep), and reappointed Steven Thomas Aceto (Rep) and Glen Coile Shults, Jr. (Dem). Jake Quinn (Dem) was officially reappointed as Chair.

For more information about elections in Buncombe County along with the Board of Elections meeting schedule, go to

About Community Bulletin
Mountain Xpress posts selected news and information of local interest as a public service for our readers. To submit press releases and other community material for possible publication, email

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.