Mars Hill University honor society for nontraditional students inducts new members

From Mars Hill University:

Mu Kappa Lambda, the Mars Hill University honor society for nontraditional students, inducted 15 new student members and one honorary member in a ceremony on Friday, May 2, in Broyhill Chapel on the campus.

Mu Kappa Lambda is the local chapter of Alpha Sigma Lambda, a national honor society devoted to the advancement of scholarship and to the recognition of nontraditional and adult students who are continuing their higher education. The Society was established in 1945 and now exists in over 300 institutional chapters throughout the country.

To be eligible for induction into Mu Kappa Lambda, a continuing education student must have completed 24 hours of graded coursework, while maintaining a grade point average of 3.4 on a 4.0 scale and a position in the top 10 % of his or her class.

Mu Kappa Lambda inductees for 2014-15 are:

  • Emily Suzanne Allen, Burnsville, NC
  • Angela B. Brock, Asheville, NC
  • Deanna Fox Buchanan, Black Mountain, NC
  • Amber N. Cheyney, Asheville, NC
  • Jenne’ G. Davis, Clyde, NC
  • Pennie Evans Ewart, Leicester, NC
  • Ashley Delores Garner, Asheville, NC
  • Raymond Jester, Asheville, NC
  • Carla Danielle Keener, Burnsville, NC
  • Stephanie Dawn McCullough, Mars Hill
  • Sara Jayne Moore, Candler, NC
  • Carly Lynette Puckett, Fairview, NC
  • Kelley L. Tomblin, Rutherfordton, NC
  • Tammie R. Welch, Cherokee, NC
  • Whitney L. Wilde, Marshall, NC

Honorary inductee:

  • Dr. Susan Stigall, assistant professor of education

Mars Hill University is a premier private, liberal arts institution offering over 30 baccalaureate degrees and one graduate degree in elementary education. Founded in 1856 by Baptist families of the region, the campus is located just 20 minutes north of Asheville in the mountains of western North Carolina.


Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.