Submit your stories to the 2023 NC State Fiction Contest

Press release from N.C. State University:

RALEIGH — The annual NC State Fiction Contest is a free literary competition open to all North Carolina residents, including out-of-state and international students who are enrolled in North Carolina universities. It remains one of the largest free-to-enter fiction contests in the South.

This year’s guest judge is Smriti Ravindra, Fulbright scholar and author of The Woman Who Climbed Trees.

Contestants may enter one story in each of the two contest categories:

●  The James Hurst Prize for Fiction ($500): An unpublished short story of no more than 5,000 words. In addition to the winner, several honorable mention awards will be presented.
●  The Shorter Fiction Prize ($250): An unpublished short story of no more than 1,200 words. One honorable mention award will be presented.


    1. The contest is open to all North Carolina residents except:
      1. Tenured/tenure-track professors in the University of North Carolina system; creative-writing instructors teaching at North Carolina State University (butteaching assistants and graduate students are eligible).
      2. Writers with a published book of fiction (if we can buy your book online or from a publisher or bookstore, we consider you published).
      3. Previous winners. Previous finalists must submit stories that have not been previously submitted.
    2. Contestants may enter no more than one story in each of the two contest categories.
    3. Entries may not have been previously published anywhere, in print or online, including personal blogs or websites.
    4. All entries must be typed and titled.
    5. Contestants should not include their name on their stories so that their work can be judged anonymously. Instead, contestants should include their name, address, telephone number and email address on a separate cover sheet.
    6. No emailed entries are accepted. Please mail entries to:NC State Fiction Contest

Department of English
North Carolina State University
Campus Box 8105
Raleigh, NC 27695-8105

1. The postmark deadline is October 14, 2023.

Due to volume, we cannot respond to individual queries or return your stories afterward. Winners and honorable mentions will be contacted directly. The public award ceremony will take place on November 15 at 7PM in Caldwell Hall Lounge at NC State University. The results will be posted at

About Community Bulletin
Mountain Xpress posts selected news and information of local interest as a public service for our readers. To submit press releases and other community material for possible publication, email

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.