And the winners are…

With national media outlets such as CNN declaring a “bloodbath” as Republicans gained control of the U.S. House of Representatives, Buncombe County mostly stayed blue. Statewide, though, a different story unfolded, as Republicans made historic gains.

Here’s a summary of the results and vote tallies for the races that appeared on Buncombe County ballots, as reported by the State Board of Elections and Buncombe County Election Services as we went to press:

• U.S. Senate

Republican incumbent Richard Burr defeated challenger Elaine Marshall, 1,451,392 votes to 1,134,607.
• 11th Congressional District

Rep. Heath Shuler defeated Republican Jeff Miller, 130,516 to 109,808.
• State Senate District 48

Sen. Tom Apodaca trounced Democratic challenger Chris Dixon, 43,340 to 22,374.
• State Senate District 49

Democratic incumbent Martin Nesbitt beat RL Clark, 32,990 to 22,604. (With Republicans gaining control of the Senate, Nesbitt will forfeit his position as majority leader.)
• State House District 114

Rep. Susan Fisher defeated Republican challenger John Carroll, 14,435 to 10,274.
• State House District 115

Rep. Patsy Keever (recently appointed to complete Bruce Goforth’s term) bested Republican Mark Crawford, 15,658 to 12,203.
• State House District 116

Republican Tim Moffitt ousted Rep. Jane Whilden 14,568 to 11,530. Whilden narrowly defeated Moffitt two years ago.
• Buncombe County sheriff

Sheriff Van Duncan defeated Republican challenger Dickie Green, 55,096 to 23,649.
• Buncombe County district attorney

Democrat Ron Moore survived a strong challenge by newcomer Bridgette Odom, 42,159 to 35,956.
• Clerk of Superior Court

Democratic incumbent Steve Cogburn trumped John Sutton, 44,578 to 32,700.

Meanwhile, in the judicial races:
• Barbara Jackson edged Bob Hunter for state Supreme Court (Hunter prevailed in Buncombe County but lost statewide).
• Cressie Thigpen won the 13-way instant-runoff race for a Court of Appeals seat.

In the remaining statewide Court of Appeals spots:
• Rick Elmore beat Steven Walker.
• Ann Marie Calabria defeated Jane Gray (Gray came out ahead in Buncombe County).
• Martha Geer beat Dean Poirier.
• Sanford Steelman was unopposed.

For 28th District Superior Court:
• Alan Thornburg (who’d previously been appointed to the seat) defeated Kate Dreher, 32,492 to 29,719.
• Marvin Pope defeated Heather Whitaker Goldstein and Diane McDonald in the instant-runoff race.

In the other 28th District judicial races:
• incumbent Shirley Brown beat challenger John Jay Watson, 34,536 to 21,854.
• Patricia Kaufmann Young won against Rhonda Moorefield, 31,172 to 19,536.
• Sharon Barrett, Julie Kepple and Rebecca Knight all won re-election unopposed.
• Buncombe County Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor

Incumbent Elise Israel won re-election, but challenger Chase Hubbard squeaked by incumbent Jeff Turner, 21,540 to 21,397.

In the Buncombe County school board races:
• In the Enka District, Bob Rhinehart defeated Nathan Taylor, 19,794 to 16,384.
• In the Erwin District, Pat Bryant was unopposed.
• In the Reynolds District, Lisa Baldwin beat Chuck Radford and Henry Mitchell.

And finally, 85 percent of Buncombe residents endorsed an amendment to the state constitution prohibiting felons from serving as sheriff.

About Margaret Williams
Editor Margaret Williams first wrote for Xpress in 1994. An Alabama native, she has lived in Western North Carolina since 1987 and completed her Masters of Liberal Arts & Sciences from UNC-Asheville in 2016. Follow me @mvwilliams

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

One thought on “And the winners are…

  1. George Keller

    You wrote: “Cressie Thigpen won the 13-way instant-runoff race for a Court of Appeals seat.” In fact, Thigpen leads with a plurality of about 20%. He and McCullough (who has about 15%) are in the “runoff.” Instant Runoff Voting counting will take the second-best votes from the other 11 candidates and apply them to the two runoff candidates. The second round of counting, which will need to be done state-wide, will start after the first counts are certified.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.