General Assembly redistricting maps delayed until tomorrow

With the controversy over redistricting hotter than the summer temperatures, renewed furor over the state legislative districts will have to wait a day. News 14 Carolina reports that the assembly won’t release the proposed district maps today, but tomorrow, July 12.

“Legislative redistricting maps will be released tomorrow [Tuesday, July 12],” a tweet from News 14 Carolina’s official account reads. “[Sen. Bob Rucho, chair of the redistricting committee] says he is not sure how early in the day that will happen.”

The congressional redistricting maps have already caused considerable controversy, as they remove most of Asheville from North Carolina’s 11th Congressional District, represented by Democratic Rep. Heath Shuler, placing it in the 10th district under Rep. Patrick McHenry.

The redistricting will affect Buncombe’s three state House representatives — Democrats Patsy Keever and Susan Fisher as well as Republican Tim Moffitt — and two state Senators — Democratic Minority Leader Martin Nesbitt and Republican Tom Apodaca. Apodaca’s district includes the southern part of Buncombe, as well as Henderson and Polk counties.

— David Forbes, senior news reporter


Thanks for reading through to the end…

We share your inclination to get the whole story. For the past 25 years, Xpress has been committed to in-depth, balanced reporting about the greater Asheville area. We want everyone to have access to our stories. That’s a big part of why we've never charged for the paper or put up a paywall.

We’re pretty sure that you know journalism faces big challenges these days. Advertising no longer pays the whole cost. Media outlets around the country are asking their readers to chip in. Xpress needs help, too. We hope you’ll consider signing up to be a member of Xpress. For as little as $5 a month — the cost of a craft beer or kombucha — you can help keep local journalism strong. It only takes a moment.

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.