Take your seats: Asheville City Council preview

On Tuesday, Dec. 11, Asheville City Council will swear in the three winners of the November municipal elections: incumbents Jan Davis and Brownie Newman and newcomer Bill Russell.

Russell, a Republican, beat out incumbent Bryan Freeborn and hopefuls Elaine Lite and Dwight Butner in the general election.

The evening’s agenda includes a resolution of appreciation to Freeborn and the election of vice mayor, a seat currently held by Holly Jones.

The special organizational meeting, Council’s last for 2007, will be followed by a reception.

To see the agenda, go here.

— Brian Postelle, staff writer


Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

7 thoughts on “Take your seats: Asheville City Council preview

  1. shadmarsh

    “a resolution of appreciation”? This is the kind of mealy-mouth silliness that turns people off from politics.

  2. Rob Close

    totally silly. I’d like to know if there was any precedent for this here?

  3. Brian Postelle

    Actually, it is a tradition to issue such a resolution to anyone leaving city government or staff. Brian Peterson got one. Joe Dunn too. So did former APD Chief Will Annarino. You can google it for more.
    -Brian Postelle

  4. shadmarsh

    My point exactly…Perhaps they could just put a few gold stars or smilely faces on their papers instead?

  5. From City Council:

    Bill Russell will take Freeborn’s seat.

    Jan Davis was unanimously elected as Vice-Mayor and switched seats with Jones.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.