About Us

Our mission

To build community and strengthen democracy by serving an active, thoughtful readership at the local level ‚ where the impact of citizen action is greatest.

  • WE ARE… an independent newspaper located in Asheville, North Carolina
  • We report independently, fairly and in-depth on local news and issues affecting Asheville and the surrounding region.
  • We chronicle the area’s vibrant arts-and-culture scene.
  • We treat our readers as participants in an ongoing civic dialogue.
  • We honor diversity.
  • We encourage excellent and innovative work in an equitable, respectful and collegial environment.
  • We offer exceptional and affordable media opportunities for local businesses, professionals and nonprofit groups to promote their goods and services.

 

Contact information

Phone

Main: (828) 251-1333

Fax: (828) 251-1311

Mailing address

Mountain Xpress

P.O. Box 144

Asheville, NC 28802

Business address

Mountain Xpress

2 Wall Street

Asheville, NC 28801

Shoot us an email:

Got a news tip or story idea? E-mail: news@mountainx.com

Have arts or entertainment-related news? E-mail: ae@mountainx.com

Want to send a letter to the editor? E-mail: letters@mountainx.com

Submit a calendar entry via E-mail: calendar@mountainx.com

Please send food news to: food@mountainx.com

Please send business news to: business@mountainx.com

Find us on Facebook at: www.facebook.com/mountainx

Report website issues or bugs: www.mountainx.com/bugs

 

Staff directory

Office

Phone: 251-1333 ext. 310

Jeff Fobes
Jeff Fobes
Publisher & Editor

251-1333 ext. 109

publisher@mountainx.com

@fobes

Patty Levesque
Patty Levesque
Office Manager/Bookkeeper

251-1333 ext. 108

plevesque@mountainx.com

Lisa Watters
Lisa Watters
Assistant Office Manager

251-1333 ext. 100

lwatters@mountainx.com

Editorial Department

Editorial Phone: 251-1333 ext. 340
A & E Phone: 251-1333 ext. 360
E-Mail: news@mountainx.com | letters@mountainx.com | opinion@mountainx.com | ae@mountainx.com | calendar@mountainx.com | clubland@mountainx.com

Twitter: @mxnews | @mxcalendar

Margaret Williams
Margaret Williams
Managing Editor

251-1333 ext. 152

mvwilliams@mountainx.com

Alli Marshall
Alli Marshall
A&E Reporter/Fashion Editor

251-1333 ext. 124

amarshall@mountainx.com

@avlstreetstyle

Gina Smith
Gina Smith
Food Section Coordinator

251-1333 ext. 107

gsmith@mountainx.com

Grady Cooper
Grady Cooper
Editorial Assistant

251-1333 ext. 110

gcooper@mountainx.com

Lea McLellan
Lea McLellan
Editorial Assistant, Writer

251-1333 ext. 127

lmclellan@mountainx.com

David Forbes
David Forbes
Senior News Reporter

251-1333 ext. 137

dforbes@mountainx.com

@davidforbes

Jake Frankel
Jake Frankel
Reporter, Writer

251-1333 ext. 115

jfrankel@mountainx.com

@JakeFrankel

Carrie Eidson
Carrie Eidson
Reporter, Editorial Assistant

251-1333 ext. 114

ceidson@mountainx.com

@mxcalendar

Hayley Benton
Hayley Benton
Reporter, Editorial Assistant

251-1333 ext. 128

hbenton@maountainx.com

@mxclubland

Ken Hanke
Ken Hanke
Movie Reviewer

khanke@mountainx.com

Display Advertising

Phone: 251-1333 ext. 320

E-Mail: advertise@mountainx.com

Susan Hutchinson
Susan Hutchinson
Advertising Manager

251-1333 ext. 143

shutchinson@mountainx.com

John Varner
John Varner
Marketing Associate

251-1333 ext. 106

jvarner@mountainx.com

Bryant Cooper
Bryant Cooper
Marketing Associate

251-1333 ext. 142

bcooper@mountainx.com

Aiyanna Sezak-Blatt
Aiyanna Sezak-Blatt
Marketing Associate

251-1333 ext. 101

asezakblatt@mountainx.com

Tim Navaille
Tim Navaille
Marketing Associate

251-1333 ext. 111

tnavaille@mountainx.com

Jordan Foltz
Jordan Foltz
Retail Advertising Representative

251-1333 ext. 141

jfoltz@mountainx.com

Nicole Civiello
Nichole Civiello
Marketing Associate

251-1333 ext. 138

nciviello@mountainx.com

Kenneth Trumbauer
Kenneth Trumbauer
Marketing Associate

251-1333 ext. 123

ktrumbauer@mountainx.com

Web / IT

Phone: 251-1333 ext. 390

E-Mail: webmaster@mountainx.com

Twitter: @mxwebteam

Stefan Colosimo
Stefan Colosimo
IT Manager

251-1333 ext. 117

scolosimo@mountainx.com

@mxwebteam

Kyle Kirkpatrick
Kyle Kirkpatrick
Web Developer

251-1333 ext. 116

kkirkpatrick@mountainx.com

@mxwebteam

Brad Messenger
Brad Messenger
Web Developer

251-1333 ext. 129

bmessenger@mountainx.com

@mxwebteam

Art & Design

Phone: 251-1333 ext. 370

E-Mail: design@mountainx.com

Megan Kirby
Megan Kirby
Art & Design Manager

251-1333 ext. 130

mkirby@mountainx.com

Laura Barry
Laura Barry
Graphic Designer

251-1333 ext. 119

lbarry@mountainx.com

Lori Deaton
Lori Deaton
Graphic Designer

251-1333 ext. 125

ldeaton@mountainx.com

Distribution

Phone: 251-1333 ext. 380

Jeff Tallman
Jeff Tallman
Distribution Manager

251-1333 ext. 112

jtallman@mountainx.com

Denise Montgomery
Denise Montgomery
Distribution Manager

251-1333 ext. 121

dmontgomery@mountainx.com