Smart bets: Ariel String Quartet

“We are looking forward to our 63rd season this year with another incredible roster of outstanding musicians and the opportunity to present our series in the newly expanded setting of the Unitarian Universalist Congregation, our concert home,” says Asheville Chamber Music Series President Polly Feitzinger. First up for the 2015-16 season is the Ariel String Quartet, which formed in Israel in 1998, when its members were bright-eyed understudies. The ambitious four, who recently won the prestigious Cleveland Quartet Award, travel to Asheville to play Joseph Haydn’s String Quartet in B flat, Opus 76, No. 4; Béla Bartók’s String Quartet, Opus 7, No. 1; and Johannes Brahms’ String Quartet in A minor, Opus 51, No. 2. The Unitarian Universalist Congregation of Asheville hosts the performance Friday, Sept. 25, at 8 p.m. $38. Photo courtesy of the artists


Thanks for reading through to the end…

We share your inclination to get the whole story. For the past 25 years, Xpress has been committed to in-depth, balanced reporting about the greater Asheville area. We want everyone to have access to our stories. That’s a big part of why we've never charged for the paper or put up a paywall.

We’re pretty sure that you know journalism faces big challenges these days. Advertising no longer pays the whole cost. Media outlets around the country are asking their readers to chip in. Xpress needs help, too. We hope you’ll consider signing up to be a member of Xpress. For as little as $5 a month — the cost of a craft beer or kombucha — you can help keep local journalism strong. It only takes a moment.

About Kat McReynolds
Kat studied entrepreneurship and music business at the University of Miami and earned her MBA at Appalachian State University. Follow me @katmAVL

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.