Smart bets: Asheville Symphony Orchestra

The third of Asheville Symphony Orchestra’s seven Masterworks concerts for the 2015-16 season spotlights Gustav Holst’s “The Planets” — “an orchestral suite that explores the cosmos and the astrology of our own solar system,” according to a release from ASO. This production requires a massive group of 83 orchestra members and 73 women’s chorus members “to reflect Holst’s fascination with the scope of our solar system.” Also on the evening’s program is Joseph Haydn’s Sinfonia concertante, Op. 84, which calls for solos by some of the group’s principal musicians, including Jason Posnock on violin, Alicia Chapman on oboe, Franklin Keel on cello and Michael Burns on bassoon. Led by ASO music director and conductor Daniel Meyer, the show takes place at the Thomas Wolfe Auditorium Saturday, Nov. 21, at 8 p.m. $22-$62 adults (student/youth discounts available). Image courtesy of ASO


Thanks for reading through to the end…

We share your inclination to get the whole story. For the past 25 years, Xpress has been committed to in-depth, balanced reporting about the greater Asheville area. We want everyone to have access to our stories. That’s a big part of why we've never charged for the paper or put up a paywall.

We’re pretty sure that you know journalism faces big challenges these days. Advertising no longer pays the whole cost. Media outlets around the country are asking their readers to chip in. Xpress needs help, too. We hope you’ll consider signing up to be a member of Xpress. For as little as $5 a month — the cost of a craft beer or kombucha — you can help keep local journalism strong. It only takes a moment.

About Kat McReynolds
Kat studied entrepreneurship and music business at the University of Miami and earned her MBA at Appalachian State University. Follow me @katmAVL

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.