Smart Bets: Ayane Okabe

Four days after making her U.S. debut at Carnegie Hall, award-winning violinist Ayane Okabe visits Asheville for a performance at Biltmore United Methodist Church on Wednesday, July 18. The evening begins at 7:30 p.m. with the Blue Ridge Orchestra Chamber Strings’ presentation of Vivaldi’s Allegro in D, “Sentimental Sarabande” from Benjamin Britten’s Simple Symphony and Johann Stamitz’s Symphony in G minor. Then Okabe, winner of the 2018 Grand Prix International Competition for Juniors & Students, and local pianist Kimberly Cann, will play Tchaikovsky’s “Memory of a Dear Place.” All proceeds benefit the host nonprofit community orchestra’s efforts to create opportunities for area musicians and music lovers to enjoy affordable performances of great symphonic works. $20. Photo courtesy of the Blue Ridge Orchestra


Thanks for reading through to the end…

We share your inclination to get the whole story. For the past 25 years, Xpress has been committed to in-depth, balanced reporting about the greater Asheville area. We want everyone to have access to our stories. That’s a big part of why we've never charged for the paper or put up a paywall.

We’re pretty sure that you know journalism faces big challenges these days. Advertising no longer pays the whole cost. Media outlets around the country are asking their readers to chip in. Xpress needs help, too. We hope you’ll consider signing up to be a member of Xpress. For as little as $5 a month — the cost of a craft beer or kombucha — you can help keep local journalism strong. It only takes a moment.

About Edwin Arnaudin
Edwin Arnaudin is a staff writer for Mountain Xpress. He also reviews films for and is a member of the Southeastern Film Critics Association (SEFCA) and North Carolina Film Critics Association (NCFCA). Follow me @EdwinArnaudin

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.