Rotary Club of Asheville announces Teachers of Excellence Awards Program

Press release from Rotary Club of Asheville:

The Rotary Club of Asheville is proud to announce its inaugural Teachers of Excellence Awards Program. An awards luncheon will be held at Noon on January 26 at Trinity Episcopal Church. Five teachers will receive a cash award of $2,000.

The following teachers have each been recognized for their outstanding commitment to their profession and to their students:

• Susanna Cerrato – Ira B. Jones Elementary;

• Robin Floyd – Avery’s Creek Elementary;

• Heather Gast – Weaverville Primary School;

• Aimee Gaston – Hominy Valley Elementary; and

• Jennifer Gortney – Fairview Elementary.

The goal of this program is to foster and encourage excellence in teaching and reward dedication to education in the Asheville City and Buncombe County School Districts. The Rotary Club of Asheville demonstrates that the community cares deeply about the quality of public schools by acknowledging exceptional teachers who deserve recognition.

The selection process began with thirty teachers nominated for the award. Each nominee and their nominator submitted essays that were reviewed by the selection committee consisting of three Rotarians and the presidents of the Buncombe County and Asheville City Schools Foundations.

The Committee selected ten semi-finalists, each of whom were interviewed. After these interviews, the five Teachers of Excellence were chosen. Our children and their futures are shaped and educated by the innovative, hard-working, and caring teachers who have dedicated their lives to bringing enthusiasm and expertise into the classroom each day.

About Community Bulletin
Mountain Xpress posts selected news and information of local interest as a public service for our readers. To submit press releases and other community material for possible publication, email

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.