Screen scene: Local film news

STANDING OVATION: Daniel Kaluuya stars in Jordan Peele's 'Get Out,' which won best film of 2017 honors from the Southeastern Film Critics Association. Photo courtesy of Universal Pictures

• The Parodies for Charity traveling film festival makes multiple stops in the area over the next week. The lineup is composed of short and feature-length parodies of popular television shows and movies, each of whose storylines center on beer. The main attraction is Gary Gose Gump, a spin on Forrest Gump, created by and starring Gary Glancy, founder of the local beer tour company The Brewery Experience. The film was shot in Asheville and across the country, including Death Valley, Mount Rainier, Yellowstone and Zion national parks.

Screenings at Wedge at Foundation, 5 Foundy St., Tuesday, Jan. 9, and Wednesday, Jan. 10, 7-9 p.m. benefit Homeward Bound. Screenings at Flat Rock Cinema, 2700 Greenville Highway, Sunday, Jan. 14, and Monday, Jan. 15, 4-6 and 7-9 p.m. each day benefit Blue Ridge Humane Society. And the screening at Blue Ghost Brewing Co., 125 Underwood Road, Fletcher, Tuesday, Jan. 16, 7-9 p.m. benefits Safelight. Tickets to each screening are $15.

• The Southeastern Film Critics Association has named Get Out the best film of 2017. Among the group’s members are Asheville writers Justin Souther for Xpress, Tony Kiss, Michelle Keenan and Chip Kaufmann for Rapid River, Marcianne Miller for Bold Life and this writer for

Spots No. 2-10 on the best film list went to The Shape of Water; Dunkirk; Lady Bird; Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri; The Post; The Florida Project; Call Me By Your Name; Darkest Hour; and The Disaster Artist. Best actor went to Gary Oldman for Darkest Hour, best actress to Sally Hawkins for The Shape of Water, best supporting actor to Sam Rockwell for Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri and best supporting actress to Laurie Metcalf for Lady Bird.

Get Out writer/director Jordan Peele took home best original screenplay while Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri won best ensemble. Other awards were fairly evenly spread out with The Shape of Water’s Guillermo del Toro earning best director, James Ivory winning best adapted screenplay for Call Me By Your Name and Hoyte Van Hoytema’s Dunkirk cinematography taking its category. Elsewhere, Jane was named best documentary, First They Killed My Father claimed best foreign language film, and Coco received best animated film.

SEFCA’s Wyatt Award — named in memory of charter member Gene Wyatt and given annually to the film that best captures the spirit of the South — went to Mudbound, Dee Rees’ film about African-American and white World War II veterans struggling to adjust to post-war life in rural Mississippi.


Thanks for reading through to the end…

We share your inclination to get the whole story. For the past 25 years, Xpress has been committed to in-depth, balanced reporting about the greater Asheville area. We want everyone to have access to our stories. That’s a big part of why we've never charged for the paper or put up a paywall.

We’re pretty sure that you know journalism faces big challenges these days. Advertising no longer pays the whole cost. Media outlets around the country are asking their readers to chip in. Xpress needs help, too. We hope you’ll consider signing up to be a member of Xpress. For as little as $5 a month — the cost of a craft beer or kombucha — you can help keep local journalism strong. It only takes a moment.

About Edwin Arnaudin
Edwin Arnaudin is a staff writer for Mountain Xpress. He also reviews films for and is a member of the Southeastern Film Critics Association (SEFCA) and North Carolina Film Critics Association (NCFCA). Follow me @EdwinArnaudin

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.