Early voting for July 17 runoff election starts today

Early voting for the the July 17 runoff election starts today, June 28, giving Buncombe County residents a chance to cast their ballots for several races. The winners will earn spots on the November 6 general election ballot.

There are up to five races on the Republican ballot in Buncombe County, depending on where you live.

Those living in the 11th Congressional District, which includes the western and northern parts of the county, will be able to weigh in on the race between Mark Meadows and Vance Patterson. Candidates for statewide races for Lieutenant Governor, N.C. Commissioner of Insurance, N.C. Secretary of State, and N.C. Superintendent of Public Instruction are on all the Republican ballots.

US House of Representatives in District 11:

Mark Meadows

Vance Patterson

Lieutenant Governor:

Dan Forest

Tony Gurley

NC Commissioner of Insurance:

Richard Morgan

Mike Causey

NC Secretary of State:

Kenn Gardner

Ed Goodwin

NC Superintendent of Public Instruction:

John Tedesco

Richard Alexander

There is only one race on the Democratic ballot: A runoff for the NC Commissioner of Labor. The only two candidates on the ballot are Marlowe Foster and John C. Brooks. You may vote for one.

Things to keep in mind:

Early voting begins today, June 28, and is only available at the Board of Elections office at 35 Woodfin Street in downtown Asheville from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on weekdays and 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. on Saturday, July 14, when it ends. All Buncombe County precincts will be open on election day, July 17, from 6:30 a.m. until 7:30 p.m.

• All Democrat and Republican voters may participate in this election.
• Unaffiliated voters who voted Democrat in the first primary, may only vote Democrat in the second primary.
• Unaffiliated voters who voted Republican in the first primary, may only vote Republican in the second primary.
• Unaffiliated voters who voted Unaffiliated in the first primary, may not vote in the second primary.
• Unaffiliated voters who did not vote in the first primary, may vote in the second primary and vote their choice of ballot.

For more information, contact the Buncombe County Board of Elections.

For more politics and election coverage, visit the Xpress blog.

The Asheville-Buncombe League of Women Voters contributed to this report.


Thanks for reading through to the end…

We share your inclination to get the whole story. For the past 25 years, Xpress has been committed to in-depth, balanced reporting about the greater Asheville area. We want everyone to have access to our stories. That’s a big part of why we've never charged for the paper or put up a paywall.

We’re pretty sure that you know journalism faces big challenges these days. Advertising no longer pays the whole cost. Media outlets around the country are asking their readers to chip in. Xpress needs help, too. We hope you’ll consider signing up to be a member of Xpress. For as little as $5 a month — the cost of a craft beer or kombucha — you can help keep local journalism strong. It only takes a moment.

About Jake Frankel
Jake Frankel is an award-winning journalist who enjoys covering a wide range of topics, from politics and government to business, education and entertainment.

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.