Asheville Living Treasures selects three to join spring class, will be honored on May 20

From the press release:

The Asheville Living Treasures Nominating Committee is happy to announce the selections for the Spring Class 2012. They are: Matthew Bacoate, Jr, Sara Hill and Dr. John Wilson

The Spring Class of Asheville Living Treasures will be publicly honored at an induction ceremony on Sunday, May 20 at 1:00 pm in the sanctuary of the First Congregational United Church of Christ located at 20 Oak Street in downtown Asheville; light reception to follow.

In addition to the public recognition ceremony, each Living Treasure will be photographed and their oral history recorded. The oral histories will be archived at the UNCA Ramsey Library’s Asheville Living Treasures special section.

The Spring Class of 2012 will join Asheville Living Treasures inducted in the spring 2011 (Jessie Nell Coleman, Hyman Dave, Mary T. Parker, and Lucille Flack Ray) and fall 2011 (Marie Watters Colton, Dr. Lewis Rathburn and Rosa Logan Walker). 

For more information about the May 20, 2012 ceremony or to request information about submitting future nominations, please contact one of the committee members listed above.

Asheville Living Treasures – “Our mission is to honor the elders of Asheville who have devoted their lives to making our community a better place to live, by publicly recognizing them and their achievements and recording their stories for future generations.” Carol Anders, Carmen Ramos-Kennedy – Founding Member, Donna Schutt – Founding Member, Marnie Walsh – Founding Member / Chair (Carol Kessler – Founding Member / Alumnus)


Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.