WLOS wins seven Emmy Awards

WLOS wins seven Emmy Awards-attachment0

After more than doubling the number of golden accolades the local TV station took home last year, the WLOS news team won seven Emmy Awards from the Southeast Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences on Saturday night. Last year, the Sinclair Broadcast Group station won three Emmys. 

The annual awards recognize excellence in the television broadcasting industry in markets in Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, South Carolina and Asheville, N.C. The big winner was WLOS reporter John Le, who received recognition for on-camera talent, writing and for a feature about Doug Blevins, Erwin High School’s kicking coach (posted below). Here is the comprehensive list of the winners and winning entries from WLOS:

Television News and Program Specialty Excellence Sports-News Single Story
Kicking Yoda
John Le, John Kirtley


Television Spot Announcements Excellence: Promotion – News Promo – Campaign
Never a slow news day
David Saich, Katie Damien, Paul DeWitt

Television Special Achievement Excellence:
The Wired Mouse
David Saich, Todd Carriker, David Ostergaard

Television Crafts Achievement Excellence: Short Form (Promos, PSAs, Commercials, Opens, etc.)
Short Form Directing Composite
Katie Damien

Television Crafts Achievement Excellence Category: Photographer – News
John Kirtley
WLOS, Asheville, NC

Television Crafts Achievement Excellence: On-Camera Talent – Reporter – General Assignment
John Le

Television Crafts Achievement Excellence: Writer – News
In John Le’s Words
John Le



Leave a Reply