30 Days Out: a look at upcoming concerts

BORN TO DRUM: He rose to fame as Bruce Springsteen's drummer; now Max Weinberg's Jukebox features the drummer's band playing an all-requests set at the Diana Wortham Theater on November 5. Photo courtesy of the artist

Twice monthly, my blog 30 Days Out spotlights upcoming music shows and events of note, shining a light into some less well-lit corners, where some fascinating artists schedule performances. I do my best to give ample advance notice so that you can adjust your budget and calendar in a way that lets you get to the show.

The artists previewed in this edition are a varied lot: Americana, classical music and rock. Three are regular fixtures on the Asheville music scene, and one makes a debut performance here in the next 30 days.

Artist: Max Weinberg’s Jukebox
Venue: Diana Wortham Theatre
Date: Sunday, Nov. 5, 8 p.m.
Door: $45-$52.50
Max Weinberg is best known as the longtime drummer for Bruce Springsteen’s E Street Band. He’s nearly as well-known as the leader of the Max Weinberg 7, the original house band on “Late Night with Conan O’Brien.” For this tour, the acclaimed drummer leads a four-piece band that plays an all-request show; that without-a-net format serves to highlight the chops, spontaneity and versatility of the quartet.


Artist: The Deslondes
Venue: The Grey Eagle
Date: Tuesday, Nov. 7, 8 p.m.
Door: $12 advance / $15 day of show
The Deslondes, based in New Orleans, combine country, zydeco, jazz, soul and rock in their musical gumbo. Listeners may also spot the influences of Fats Domino and Bob Wills and His Texas Playboys. If there’s such a style as American music, these guys embody it rather well. And, having five songwriters in the band is one of the Deslondes’ not-so-secret musical weapons. Twain opens.


Artist: Callaghan
Venue: The Altamont Theatre
Date: Thursday, Nov. 9, 8 p.m.
Door: $13 advance / $15 day of show
This British singer-songwriter is quite popular in Asheville; I’ve lost count just how many times The Altamont has brought her to town for well-attended shows. With the imminent closing of the beloved venue, this will be fans’ last time to see and hear Callaghan in the intimate context of the Church Street listening room. Jesse Terry opens.


Artist: The Asheville Symphony: Mozart’s Piano Concerto 23
Venue: US Cellular Center
Date: Saturday, Nov. 18, 7 p.m.
Door: $21.50-$66.50
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart composed this symphony in 1786; the three-movement work runs nearly half an hour and moves through sonata, operatic and rondo forms. The ASO will play Mozart’s work along with selections from Theofandis (“Rainbow Body”) and Prokovfiev (Symphony No. 5). Darko Butorac conducts, and the performance features pianist Lisa Smirnova.

You may also enjoy: With nearly 2500 entries and nearly 500 interviews, my Musoscribe blog features new content — features, reviews and more — every business day. A proud tradition since 2009, now in its ninth year. My first book, Reinventing Pink Floyd: From Syd Barrett to The Dark Side of the Moon, will be published by Rowman & Littlefield in 2018


Thanks for reading through to the end…

We share your inclination to get the whole story. For the past 25 years, Xpress has been committed to in-depth, balanced reporting about the greater Asheville area. We want everyone to have access to our stories. That’s a big part of why we've never charged for the paper or put up a paywall.

We’re pretty sure that you know journalism faces big challenges these days. Advertising no longer pays the whole cost. Media outlets around the country are asking their readers to chip in. Xpress needs help, too. We hope you’ll consider signing up to be a member of Xpress. For as little as $5 a month — the cost of a craft beer or kombucha — you can help keep local journalism strong. It only takes a moment.

About Bill Kopp
Author, music journalist, historian, collector, and musician. His first book, "Reinventing Pink Floyd: From Syd Barrett to The Dark Side of the Moon," published by Rowman & Littlefield, is available now. Follow me @the_musoscribe

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.