Asheville Symphony features Chopin in April 22 concert

Press release:

April 22 • 8 p.m.
Thomas Wolfe Auditorium

Daniel Meyer, conductor
Soyeon Kate Lee, piano

Debussy Petite Suite
Chopin Piano Concerto No. 2
Franck Symphony in D minor
“All three composers on our April program had a firm grasp on the art of choosing the perfect instruments for the right musical moments. Debussy’s Petite Suite is one of the many French works originally written for piano that take advantage of the full palette of the orchestra. Chopin’s Second Piano Concerto, in the hands of a rising virtuoso like Soyeon Kate Lee, is a perfect example of the beauty that can exist when the solo piano perfectly intertwines with the orchestra. Franck’s Symphony in D minor stands as a richly woven tapestry of emotion and musical ideas, at one turn deeply rigorous in its construction, yet also delectably fanciful in its saturated hues of Romantic-era color.” —Daniel Meyer

First prize winner of the 2010 Naumburg International Piano Competition and the 2004 Concert Artist Guild International Competition, Korean-American pianist Soyeon Kate Lee has been lauded by the New York Times as a pianist with “a huge, richly varied sound, a lively imagination and a firm sense of style,” and by the Washington Post for her “stunning command of the keyboard.” Lee has been rapturously received as guest soloist with the Cleveland Orchestra and the London Symphony Orchestra, among others. A member of the coveted Lincoln Center Chamber Music Society Two program, her performance of the Mozart Piano Trio was broadcast on PBS’ Live from Lincoln Center.

About Alli Marshall
Alli Marshall is the arts section editor at Mountain Xpress. She's lived in Asheville for more than 20 years and loves live music, visual art, fiction and friendly dogs. Alli is the winner of the 2016 Thomas Wolfe Fiction Prize and the author of the novel "How to Talk to Rockstars," published by Logosophia Books. Follow me @alli_marshall

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.