Blue Ridge Orchestra’s season finale, May 5 and 6

Press release from Blue Ridge Orchestra:

WHO: Blue Ridge Orchestra, conducted by Milton Crotts

WHAT:  “Music for the New World,” an orchestral concert featuring Antonín Dvořák’s Symphony No. 9: From the New World and Arturo Márquez’s Danzón No. 2.

WHEN & WHERE:  Saturday, May 5 and Sunday, May 6, 3pm, at Lipinsky Auditorium on the UNC Asheville campus
$15 General / $10 Friends of BRO / $5 Students / 6 & under FREE

TICKETS and INFO:  (828) 782-3354;
STORY: Blue Ridge Orchestra’s Season Finale Celebrates North American Music

Living in New York City in 1892, Czech composer Antonín Dvořák found inspiration in the music of the New World, particularly African American spirituals and Native American melodies. Drawing on these influences but remaining true to his Bohemian roots, he devised a symphony that would become one of the most beloved in the entire canon. Symphony No. 9 (From the New World) has been hailed as “warmly human,” and one of the most accessible works of classical music.

On May 5th and 6th, the 60+ volunteer musicians of the Blue Ridge Orchestra will perform this inspirational piece, followed by Mexican composer Arturo Márquez’s sprightly Danzón No. 2.

Danzón No. 2 is one of eight pieces Márquez wrote in the style of one of Mexico’s oldest dance forms (danzón, derived from the Cuban contradanza). The virtuosic solos and rollicking rhythms and syncopation of this nine-minute piece will have the audience on its feet.

The concert, Music for the New World, will be performed at 3pm on Saturday, May 5, and Sunday, May 6, in Lipinsky Auditorium on the UNC Asheville campus. Tickets ($15 General Admission | $10 Friends of the Orchestra | $5 Students) and information are available at

About Community Bulletin
Mountain Xpress posts selected news and information of local interest as a public service for our readers. To submit press releases and other community material for possible publication, email

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.