CFWNC awards $540,000 in scholarships to area students

Press release from the Community Foundation of Western North Carolina:

The Community Foundation of Western North Carolina (CFWNC) recently approved scholarships totaling $540,000 to 103 students in Western North Carolina. Sixty volunteers from the community worked to review the applications and select recipients.

Top recipients included Michael Byrd from Martin L. Nesbitt Discovery Academy, who was awarded the Irving Jacob Reuter Award, valued at $40,000 over four years; Natalie Gabriel from Asheville High School, who was awarded the Marilyn Lester and William Lester Scholarship, valued at $40,000 over four years; Jeshua Pott from Martin L. Nesbitt Discovery Academy, who was awarded the Nathaniel Ellis Cannady Jr. Scholarship, valued at $30,000 over four years; and Aionna Hyatt from Asheville High School, who was awarded the Clyde and Mildred Wright Endowment Fund Scholarship, valued at $20,000.

Additional Buncombe County students who were awarded scholarships include:

Caroline Bowers                               TC Roberson High School

Emma Cohn                                        School of Inquiry and Life Sciences

Larkin Dale                                          Charles D. Owen High School

Bethany Davis                                   Enka High School

Evan Davison                                     School of Inquiry and Life Sciences

Will Dorsey                                         Clyde A. Erwin High School

Antonio Flores                                  Clyde A. Erwin High School

Ellie Garst                                            TC Roberson High School

Sarah Ann Hamrick                          Charles D. Owen High School

Harrison Kaufmann                         NC State University

Quinton Kaufmann                         NC State University

Emmie Kendrick                               School of Inquiry and Life Sciences

Mitsy Garcia-Lopez                         Buncombe County Early College

Samuel Manske                                North Buncombe High School

Riley Marshall                                    Veritas Christian Academy

Leah Moore                                       Enka High School

Sarah Morrissey                               AC Reynolds High School

Alexandria Plemmons                    Enka High School

Sean Poarch                                       NC School of Science and Math

Elizabeth Propst                               Asheville High School

Shaelyn Roberts                               North Buncombe High School

Rebecca Scothorn                            School of Inquiry and Life Sciences

Chelsea Troutman                           School of Inquiry and Life Sciences

Julia Willett                                         Clyde A. Erwin High School

John Witherspoon                           Asheville Christian Academy

Kendall Zorn                                       A.C. Reynolds High School

Scholarship endowments can have broad eligibility criteria or can be focused on a particular school or county, offered to students pursuing a degree in a stated field or available to those who will attend a designated college or university.

“The quality of our applicants was so high that selecting the finalists was tough,” said David Williamson, Waynesville resident and first-year member of the WNC Regional Scholarship Committee. “Awarding scholarships to such accomplished students is inspiring. I look forward to their future success and contributions as worthy representatives of Western North Carolina schools and communities.”

CFWNC is celebrating its 40th anniversary in 2018. CFWNC works with families, businesses and nonprofits to strengthen communities through the creation of charitable funds and strategic grantmaking. A permanent charitable resource, the Foundation manages over 1,060 funds and has facilitated more than $216 million in philanthropy since its founding in 1978. CFWNC continues to evolve to help donors and nonprofits meet their charitable goals and to serve the ever-changing needs of Western North Carolina and beyond.  Learn more at

About Community Bulletin
Mountain Xpress posts selected news and information of local interest as a public service for our readers. To submit press releases and other community material for possible publication, email

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.