Screen scene: Local film news

PASSENGER SIDE: Yalitza Aparicio stars in Alfonso Cuarón's 'Roma,' which won best film of 2018 honors from the Southeastern Film Critics Association. Photo courtesy of Netflix

• The Film Fridays series continues at the Columbus Public Library, 1289 W. Mills St., Columbus, on Dec. 28, at 1 p.m. with Crazy Rich Asians. Complimentary popcorn will be provided. Free.

• Asheville comedian Hilliary Begley may currently be seen in the Netflix original movie Dumplin’. Begley plays Lucy Dickson, aunt of and inspiration to Willowdean (Danielle Macdonald, Patty Cake$), the plus-size teenage daughter who enters the pageant run by her mother Rosie (Jennifer Aniston), a former beauty queen, as a form of protest.

• The Southeastern Film Critics Association has named Roma the best film of 2018. Among the group’s members are Asheville writers Scott Douglas and Justin Souther for Xpress, Bruce Steele for the Asheville Citizen Times and, Tony Kiss, Jill Boniske for, Michelle Keenan and Chip Kaufmann for Rapid River, Marcianne Miller for Bold Life and this writer for

Spots No. 2-10 on the best film list went to The Favourite, A Star Is Born, BlacKkKlansman, Vice, If Beale Street Could Talk, Green Book, First Reformed, Eighth Grade and Leave No Trace. Best actor went to Ethan Hawke for First Reformed (runner-up: Christian Bale, Vice); best actress to Olivia Colman for The Favourite (runner-up: Lady Gaga, A Star Is Born); best supporting actor to Richard E. Grant for Can You Ever Forgive Me? (runner-up: Mahersahala Ali, Green Book) and best supporting actress to Regina King for If Beale Street Could Talk (runner-up: Rachel Weisz, The Favourite).

Roma director Alfonso Cuarón earned best director (runner-up: Bradley Cooper, A Star Is Born) and best cinematography (runner-up: Robbie Ryan, The Favourite), and the entry also won best foreign language film (runner-up: Shoplifters). The Favourite additionally took home best ensemble (runner-up: Vice and Black Panther) and original screenplay for its team of Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara (runner-up Paul Schrader, First Reformed).

Elsewhere, BlacKkKlansman writers Charlie Wachtel, David Rabinowitz, Kevin Willmott and Spike Lee received best adapted screenplay (runner-up: Nicole Holofcener and Jeff Whitty, Can You Ever Forgive Me?); Won’t You Be My Neighbor? was named best documentary (runner-up: RBG); and Isle of Dogs outlasted recent release Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse for best animated film.

SEFCA’s Wyatt Award — named in memory of charter member Gene Wyatt and given annually to the film that best captures the spirit of the South — went to Green Book, Peter Farrelly’s fact-based film about African-American pianist Dr. Don Shirley’s 1962 tour of the Southeast with hard-nosed, Italian-American driver Tony “Lip” Vallelonga. Runner-up went to Blaze, Hawke’s biopic of the late outlaw Americana musician Blaze Foley.


Thanks for reading through to the end…

We share your inclination to get the whole story. For the past 25 years, Xpress has been committed to in-depth, balanced reporting about the greater Asheville area. We want everyone to have access to our stories. That’s a big part of why we've never charged for the paper or put up a paywall.

We’re pretty sure that you know journalism faces big challenges these days. Advertising no longer pays the whole cost. Media outlets around the country are asking their readers to chip in. Xpress needs help, too. We hope you’ll consider signing up to be a member of Xpress. For as little as $5 a month — the cost of a craft beer or kombucha — you can help keep local journalism strong. It only takes a moment.

About Edwin Arnaudin
Edwin Arnaudin is a staff writer for Mountain Xpress. He also reviews films for and is a member of the Southeastern Film Critics Association (SEFCA) and North Carolina Film Critics Association (NCFCA). Follow me @EdwinArnaudin

Before you comment

The comments section is here to provide a platform for civil dialogue on the issues we face together as a local community. Xpress is committed to offering this platform for all voices, but when the tone of the discussion gets nasty or strays off topic, we believe many people choose not to participate. Xpress editors are determined to moderate comments to ensure a constructive interchange is maintained. All comments judged not to be in keeping with the spirit of civil discourse will be removed and repeat violators will be banned. See here for our terms of service. Thank you for being part of this effort to promote respectful discussion.

Leave a Reply

To leave a reply you may Login with your Mountain Xpress account, connect socially or enter your name and e-mail. Your e-mail address will not be published. All fields are required.